Digital Scholarship Section


To provide a forum for ACRL members engaged in exploring, adapting, and implementing emerging digital scholarship services. This includes the topics of digital   curation in support of the lifecycle management of research; digital humanities to cultivate a community of practice involved in digital humanities research and development; and connecting researchers with numeric and geospatial data that is compiled by others. This section will sponsor discussions or programs that share the ways in which libraries are working toward these topics using scalable, efficient, and sustainable methods. This section will inform and educate librarians on digital scholarship trends and new technologies and collaborate with other organizations within the library profession and academe on issues concerning digital scholarship.


Ms. Kristen Grace Totleben (Chair, July 1, 2020, to June 30, 2021)
Ms. Theresa G. Burress (Secretary, July 1, 2020, to June 30, 2022)
Mr. Elisandro Cabada (Vice-Chair, July 1, 2020, to June 30, 2021)
Ms. Hannah Scates Kettler (Past-Chair, July 1, 2020, to June 30, 2021)
Megan Martinsen (Member-at-Large, July 1, 2020, to June 30, 2022)
Dr. Patrice-Andre Prud'homme (Member-at-Large, July 1, 2020, to June 30, 2022)
Dr. Amanda Tickner (Member-at-Large, July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2021)
Faye A. Chadwell (Board Liaison, July 1, 2020, to June 30, 2021)
Megan R. Griffin (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2020, to June 30, 2021)

Displaying active committee roster as of 10/28/2020. Last retrieved on 10/28/2020. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


As of February 2020, DSS had 1,698 members. The committee composition is determined by section leadership. 


The Digital Scholarship Section (DSS) was established September 1, 2017.  The former ACRL Digital Curation Interest Group, ACRL Digital Humanities Interest Group, and ACRL Numeric and Geospatial Data Services in Academic Libraries Interest Group came together to form the new section.

Get Involved

Volunteers will need to complete the volunteer form by February 15 for committee service that begins July 1. More information, including volunteer requirements, can be found on the ACRL volunteer site.

Staff Liaison

Megan Griffin
Senior Program Officer
Association of College & Research Libraries
American Library Association