ACRL Awards Program

The College of Western Idaho Library staff holding the ACRL Excellence in Academic Libraries Award

ACRL's awards recognize and honor the professional contributions and achievements of your peers. This special recognition by the Association of College and Research Libraries enhances the sense of personal growth and accomplishment of our members, provides our membership with role models, and strengthens the image of our membership in the eyes of employers, leadership, and the academic community as a whole.

Made possible by generous corporate support, the annual presentation of our prestigious awards and grants to these deserving individuals and institutions enables ACRL to honor the very best in academic librarianship.



Nominations for most 2020 awards were due December 6, 2019. ACRL award committees will meet and make their selections, and recipients will be announced following the 2020 ALA Midwinter Meeting.

Browse the award categories below:

2020 Award Recipients

Congratulations to our 2020 award recipients! For a full list of 2020 award recipients, including section awards and award announcements for each award, see our award recipient page.

Photo of John E. Ulmschneider

Academic/Research Librarian of the Year

John E. Ulmschneider
Dean of Libraries and University Librarian
Virginia Commonwealth University

Photo of three recipients of the Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award

Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award

Beth Denker, George Machovec, and Rose Nelson
Colorado Alliance of Research Libraries


Excellence in Academic Libraries Award

Photo of Nevada State College Marydean Martin Library
Nevada State College
Henderson, NV
Photo of Santa Rosa Junior College Library
Community College
Santa Rosa Junior College
Santa Rosa, CA
Photo of University of Maryland Library
University of Maryland
College Park, MD

Information is also available about starting new awards.