General Information

Mission

ALA's advocacy and public policy staff work to secure information technology policies that support and encourage efforts of libraries to ensure access to electronic information resources as a means of upholding the public’s right to a free and open information society. Staff works to ensure a library voice in information policy debates and to promote full and equitable intellectual participation by the public by:

  • Conducting research and analysis aimed at understanding the implications of information technology and information policy for libraries and library users,
  • Educating the ALA community about the implications of information policy, law, and regulation for libraries and library users,
  • Advancing ALA’s information policy interests in non-legislative government policy forums, and
  • Engaging in strategic outlook to anticipate technological change, particularly as it presents policy challenges to libraries and library users.

Read more about our nearly 75 years of history here.

Staff

Gavin Baker

Gavin Baker, MSLIS
Assistant Director,
Government Relations
gbaker@alawash.org
Rosalind Bradley

Rosalind Bradley
Assistant Director,
Administration
rbradley@alawash.org
Larra Clark

Larra Clark, MSLIS
Deputy Director,
Public Policy/PLA
lclark@ala.org
Alisha Dixon

Alisha Dixon
Administrative Assistant,
Washington Office
adixon@alawash.org
Shawnda Hines

Shawnda Hines
Assistant Director,
Communications
shines@alawash.org
Alan Inouye

Alan Inouye, Ph.D.
Director,
Public Policy
ainouye@alawash.org
Kathi Kromer

Kathi Kromer, MA
Associate Executive Director,
Washington Office
kkromer@alawash.org
Lisa Lindle

Lisa Lindle
Manager,
Grassroots/Advocacy Outreach
llindle@alawash.org
Kevin Maher

Kevin Maher
Deputy Director
Government Relations
kmaher@alawash.org
Pat May

Pat May, MA
Director,
Administration
pmay@alawash.org
Daniel Snedden

Megan Ortegon
Manager,
Public Policy
mortegon@alawash.org
Carrie Russell

Carrie Russell, MSLIS
Director,
Public Policy
crussell@alawash.org
Marijke Visser

Marijke Visser, MSLIS
Associate Director and
Senior Policy Advocate
mvisser@alawash.org
Emily Wagner

Emily Wagner, MSLIS
Assistant Director,
Knowledge Mmgt/Comms
ewagner@alawash.org
 


Contact Information
1615 New Hampshire Ave., NW, 1st Floor
Washington DC 20009-2520
Phone: 202-628-8410
Toll-Free Number: 1-800-941-8478