Banned Books Week Events


Free webinar on how authors respond to book bannings and how librarians can support them

Posted on September 22, 2016

What’s it like to be the author of a banned or challenged book?  How do authors respond in these situations and how can librarians support them and the freedom to read? In honor of Banned Books Week, three authors will address these questions and more during a free webinar on September 29th at 8 a.m. PDT/11 a.m. EDT., and Presented by the American Library Association’s Office for Intellectual Freedom and SAGE Publishing, the webinar will include perspectives from:

Jessica Herthel

Jessica Herthel, a graduate of Harvard Law School and a co-author of I Am Jazz, a children’s picture book about a transgender girl

Christine BaldacchinoChristine Baldacchino, a former early childhood educator, and the author of the widely-acclaimed book Morris Micklewhite and the Tangerine Dress
Wendy DonigerWendy Doniger, Mircea Eliade Distinguished Service Professor of the History of Religions at the University of Chicago, and author of The Hindus: An Alternative History; and On Hinduism, which portrays the history of Hinduism outside of mainstream perspectives.

Following the three presentations, there will be some time for Q&A. Register to attend the live webinar session by clicking the button below. (All registrants will receive a link to the webinar recording, so register even if you cannot attend the live event.)

Thursday, September 29th

8am PDT| 9am MST| 10am CST| 11am EDT | 4pm BST




The webinar will be moderated by Vicky Baker, Deputy Editor of Index on Censorship magazine. Index on Censorship is an international organization that promotes and defends the right to freedom of expression.


Free Webinar: Fifty Shades of Banned Books Week

Wednesday, August 10, 2016

avatar.jpg.320x320pxKristin Pekoll is Assistant Director of ALA’s Office for Intellectual Freedom (OIF). She is part of a five person team dedicated to promoting the right to read and providing education about the First Amendment. Kristin communicates with state library associations on current book challenges and publications that deal with censorship, privacy, ethics, and internet filtering. She organizes online education and training on the freedom to read and how to navigate reconsideration requests and media relations. 


Participate in the Banned Books Virtual Read-Out!

Banned Books Week Virtual Read-OutAre you interested in participating in Banned Books Week, but don't know how? Consider joining many celebrities, libraries and bookstores across the country in the Banned Books Virtual Read-Out!

For the fifth year in a row, readers from across the country and around the world will be able to participate virtually during Banned Books Week, Sept. 27 –October 3, 2015. Participants may proclaim the importance of the freedom to read by posting videos that will be featured on a dedicated Banned Books Week Virtual Read-Out YouTube channel.

Instructions on how libraries can participate in the event can be found on the  How your library can participate in the Banned Books Week Virtual Read-out! page.


Promote Your Banned Books Week Event

Promote your Banned Books Week event on the website targeted to the general public on the Events page. Add your event to the list by filling out this form