Odyssey Award

odyssey awardodyssey award

About the Odyssesy Award

This annual award will be given to the producer of the best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults, available in English in the United States.  The selection committee may also select honor titles. The Odyssey Award is jointly given and administered by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) and the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA), divisions of ALA, and is sponsored by Booklist.

The selection committee consists of nine members: four members appointed by ALSC; four members appointed by YALSA; a chair, whose appointment alternates between ALSC and YALSA divisions; and a consultant from the staff of Booklist magazine who works with audiobooks.  The consultant may participate fully in all book discussions but may not participate in voting.

Seal Licensing

Individuals who wish to buy small quantities of seals can find them in the ALA Online Store. Publishers wishing to buy bulk seals or license seal images can find more information by consulting YALSA's Award Seals Usage Guidelines and  ALA's Seals Sales & Permissions page.

If you'd like to license the winner or honor seal, please learn more here.

Visit YALSA's Teen Book Finder Database, a one-stop shop for finding selected lists and award winners. Users can search this free resource by award, list name, year, author, genre and more, as well as print customizable lists.

Award Policies & Procedures

Odyssey Manual

Committee Contacts

Suggest a Title

Producer Submission Form


Current Winners

Previous Winners

Teen Book Finder App

2024 Odyssey Award for Excellence in Audiobook Production for Children

Children’s Audiobook

“El Deafo”

Produced by Matie Argiropoulos, Listening Library, an imprint of Penguin Random House Audio

Written by Cece Bell and narrated by a full cast.

Young Cece Bell contracts meningitis and loses her hearing. As she begins to use listening devices, her insecurity and frustration lead her to develop a superhero personality, El Deafo, instilling the confidence she needs. This production features a dynamic full-cast narration and a unique array of sound effects.

2024 Odyssey Award for Excellence in Audiobook Production for Young Adults

"Promise Boys”
Produced by Macmillan Young Listeners, a Macmillan Audio production from Henry Holt & Co. 

Written by Nick Brooks and narrated by a full cast.

When Principal Moore, head of Urban Promise Prep, is found dead, students J. B., Ramón and Trey become suspects. The trio joins forces to prove their innocence in a system that seeks to bury them. This twisting mystery will keep listeners guessing until the end. “Boasting a cast whose performances will captivate teen audiences, ‘Promise Boys’ combines talented voice work with impressive sound design to produce an immersive mystery,” said McCurtis.

2024 Odyssey Honor Audiobooks

“Chinese Menu: The History, Myths, and Legends Behind Your Favorite Foods,”

Written by Grace Lin

Narrated by Lisa Ling and produced by Hachette Audio.

“Chinese Menu” provides a culinary buffet for the budding epicurean. Each dish is introduced with a folktale leading into the history and evolution of the dish as seen in American Chinese restaurants today. Ling adds a taste of Chinese language to this nonfiction title, creating an unforgettable listening experience.

“Mexikid: A Graphic Memoir”

Written by Pedro Martín

Narrated by a full cast

Produced by Diane McKiernan and Olivia Langen for Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group.

Shipoopi! When the Martins pile into their Winnebago to trek down to Mexico and pick up Abuelito, can they avoid total disaster? Join Pedro and a dynamic cast of characters on a laugh-out- loud family road trip punctuated by a soundtrack of lively music, mishaps and heartwarming moments.

"Once There Was”
Written by Kiyash Monsef
Narrated by Nikki Massoud
Produced by Allison Llight for Simon & Schuster Audio.
When her father is killed, Marjan discovers the truth: he was a veterinarian for fantastical creatures. Now she must continue his work, unearthing the truth behind his murder. Embark on a lyrical journey narrated by Nikki Massoud where the Iranian myths of childhood are real and magic binds us all.


“Sisters of the Lost Marsh”

Written and narrated by Lucy Strange

Produced by Paul R. Gagne for Scholastic Audio.

A spellbinding narrative from Lucy Strange, “Sisters of the Lost Marsh” features a full cast of characters narrated exquisitely by the author. Strange’s crisp recitation and lilting melodies brings Willa’s quest to life as she searches for her sister Grace, following her mysterious disappearance from the Full Moon Fayre.


Written by Elizabeth Wein

Narrated by Moira Quirk

Produced by Elece Green and Dennis Kao for Hachette Audiobooks.

Stella North, the lone female pilot in a cross-country air race, witnesses a murder in this thrilling historical mystery set in late 1930’s Europe. Elizabeth Wein’s breathtaking aero-adventure is skillfully narrated by Moira Quirk, whose panoply of accents brings a diverse authenticity to Wein’s detailed and intense narrative.

Members of the 2024 Odyssey Award Committee: Chair Kirby McCurtis, Multnomah County Library, Portland, Oregon; Ariel Birdoff, Mosaic Preparatory Academy, New York; Cassie Chenoweth, Cobb County Public Library System, Marietta, Georgia; Claire Covington, Old Dominion University, Staunton, Virginia; Loren Hinton, Pioneer Library System, Norman, Oklahoma; Joe Prince, Central Rappahannock Regional Library, Fredericksburg, Virginia; Josie Snow, Ruby Sisson Memorial Library, Pagosa Springs, Colorado; Raychelle J. Steele, Westerville Public Library, Ohio; Eva Thaler-Sroussi, Wellesley Free Library, Norwood, Massachusetts; Leigh Verburg, Kent District Library, Grand Rapids, Michigan; Kristin Williamson, Metropolitan Library System, Oklahoma City; and Jean M. Jansen, Villa Park Public Library, Illinois (award administrative assistant).

Previous Winners 

2023 Odyssey Winner and Honor Recordings

2022 Odyssey Winner and Honor Recordings

2021 Odyssey Winner and Honor Recordings

2020 Odyssey Winner and Honor Recordings

2019 Odyssey Winner and Honor Recordings

2018 Odyssey Winner and Honor Recordings

2017 Odyssey Winner and Honor Recordings

2016 Odyssey Winner and Honor Recordings

2015 Odyssey Winner and Honor Recordings

2014 Odyssey Winner and Honor Recordings

2013 Odyssey Winner and Honor Recordings

2012 Odyssey Winner and Honor Recordings

2011 Odyssey Winner and Honor Recordings

2010 Odyssey Winner and Honor Recordings

2009 Odyssey Winner and Honor Recordings

2008 Odyssey Winner and Honor Recordings