Accredited Library and Information Studies Master's Programs from 1925 through Present

Below is a list of all library and information studies programs accredited by ALA since 1925. It is arranged by institution and includes currently and formerly accredited programs.

Students graduating from the programs on this list during the effective dates of accreditation have graduated from an ALA-accredited program.

In the case of discontinued or withdrawn accreditation, a grace period applies, which varies according to the date of withdrawal. Contact the Office for Accreditation to verify the grace period accreditation date for discontinued or withdrawn accreditation from a specific program.

Contact the Office for Accreditation to verify the retroactive initial accreditation dates.

Please contact the ALA Office for Accreditation if you need more information.

Table of ALA-accredited programs since 1925

Accredited Programs


Accreditation Period

Alabama, University of 1972/73 to present
Alabama Agricultural and Mechanical University (discontinued 1981) 1973/74 to August 1982
Alberta, University of 1968/69 to present
Arizona, University of 1972/73 to present
Atlanta University (see Clark Atlanta University) 1941/42 to June 1988
Ball State University (discontinued August 1985) 1978/79 to February 1987
Brigham Young University (discontinued August 1993) 1968/69 to February 1995
British Columbia, University of 1961/62 to present
California - Berkeley, University of 1924/25 to May 1994
California - Los Angeles, University of 1960/61 to present
Carnegie Institute of Technology (discontinued 1962) 1924/25 to 1962
Carnegie Library of Atlanta (transferred to Emory University 1930) 1924/25 to 1930
Case Western Reserve University (discontinued 1986) 1924/25 to December 1987
Catholic University of America 1946/47 to present
Chicago, University of (discontinued 1990) 1932/33 to December 1991
Clarion University of Pennsylvania 1974/75 to present
Clark Atlanta University (discontinued 2005) 1941/42 to May 2005
Columbia University (see also New York Public Library and New York State; discontinued June 1992) 1925/26 to December 1993
Dalhousie University 1970/71 to present
Denver, University of 1932/33 to February 1987; 2003/04 to present
Dominican University (formerly Rosary College) 1936/37 to February 1957; 1960/61 to present
Drexel University 1924/25 to present
East Carolina University 2015 to present
Emory University (see also Carnegie Library of Atlanta; discontinued August 1988) 1928/29 to February 1990
Emporia State University 1930/31 to February 1958; 1964/65 to present
Florida State University 1951/52 to present
Hampton Institute (discontinued 1939) 1926/27 to 1940
Hawaii, University of 1965/66 to present
Illinois, University of 1924/25 to present
Indiana University 1951/52 to present
Iowa, University of 1969/70 to present
Kent State University 1961/62 to present
Kentucky, University of 1940/41 to present
Long Island University 1969/70 to present
Los Angeles Public Library (discontinued 1932) 1924/25 to 1933
Louisiana State University 1932/33 to present
McGill University 1927/28 to present
Maryland, University of 1965/66 to present
Marywood College 1944/45 to January 1956
Michigan, University of 1926/27 to present
Minnesota, University of (discontinued June 1985) 1933/34 to December 1986
Mississippi, University of (discontinued December 1984 Summer 1979 to June 1986
Missouri-Columbia, University of 1967/68 to present
Montreal, University of 1967/68 to present
New Jersey College for Women (discontinued 1952) 1927/28 to 1953
New York - Albany, State University of 1930/31 to February 1959; 1965/66 to present
New York - Buffalo, State University of 1970/71 to present
New York - Geneseo, State University of (discontinued August 1983) 1944/45 to February 1959; 1966/67 to February 1985
New York Public Library (consolidated with New York State Library School and transferred to Columbia University in 1926) 1924/25 to 1926
North Carolina - Chapel Hill, University of 1932/33 to present
North Carolina College for Women (discontinued 1933) 1929/30 to 1934
North Carolina - Greensboro, University of 1980/81 to present
North Carolina Central University 1973/74 to present
North Texas, University of 1965/66 to present
Northern Illinois, University of (discontinued May 1994) 1967/68 to May 1994
Oklahoma, University of 1930/31 to present
Oregon, University of (discontinued August 1978) 1966/67 to January 1980
Our Lady of the Lake College 1941/42 to January 1957
Ottawa, University of 2014 to present
Peabody College for Teachers, George (merged with Vanderbilt University 1979; discontinued in August 1988) 1930/31 to January 1990
Pittsburgh, University of 1962/63 to present
Pratt Institute 1924/25 to present
Puerto Rico, University of 1988/89 to present
Queens College, City University of New York 1968/69 to present
Rhode Island, University of 1969/70 to present
Rutgers University 1954/55 to present
St. Catherine University (formerly College of St. Catherine) 1929/30 to February 1959; 2009/2010 to present
St. John's University 1974/75 to present
St. Louis Library School (discontinued 1932) 1924/25 to 1933
San Jose State University 1967/68 to present
Simmons University (formerly Simmons College) 1924/25 to present
South Carolina, University of 1972/73 to present
South Florida, University of 1973/74 to present
Southern California, University of 1936/37 to December 1987; 2015-present
Southern Connecticut State University (withdrawn October 2013) 1970/71 to December 2015
Southern Mississippi, University of 1978/79 to present
Syracuse University 1928/29 to present
Tennessee, University of 1972/73 to present
Texas - Austin, University of 1951/52 to present
Texas Woman's University 1936/37 to present
Toronto, University of 1935/36 to present
Vanderbilt University (see Peabody; discontinued August 1988) 1974/75 to February 1990
Valdosta State University 2006/2007 to present
Washington, University of 1924/25 to present
Wayne State University 1965/66 to present
Western Michigan University (discontinued 1983) 1946/47 to December 1984
Western Ontario, University of (Western University) 1967/68 to present
College of William and Mary (discontinued 1948) 1936/37 to 1949
Wisconsin - Madison, University of 1924/25 to present
Wisconsin - Milwaukee, University of 1974/75 to present