Volunteers of the Year Award

Any official YALSA group or an individual volunteering for YALSA in an official YALSA capacity is eligible for this recognition. This award was first given in 2013.  Nominations accepted through Dec. 1 of each year.  The recognition includes a one year membership to YALSA and a commemorative certificate for each category's winner(s). 

The YALSA Volunteer of the Year Awards acknowledge the contributions of YALSA members who have demonstrated outstanding service to the mission, goals and work of YALSA during a given service year.  Awards are given out for:

  • Chair/Team Lead: leadership of a YALSA advisory board, blogging team, committee, jury, resource retreat, or task force
  • Individual Member: contributions of an individual member who has volunteered for YALSA in an official capacity, such as serving on an appointed group, staffing a YALSA exhibit booth, writing for a publication or blog, etc.
  • Group: work conducted as a whole by an advisory board, blogging team, committee, jury, resource retreat, or task force

To nominate yourself, a group or an individual, please use this online form.


Individual member: Adrienne Strock


Individual member: Molly Wetta; 2016-2017 The Hub member manager

Chair:  Angela Carstensen; Chair of the 2018 Printz Award Committee

Group: 2017 Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Readers Blogging Team:

  • Dana Hutchins, Coordinator
  • Jenny Zbrizher
  • Jodeana Kruse
  • Jessica Ormonde
  • Kay Hones
  • Lisa Krok
  • Laura Lehner
  • Karen Lemmons
  • Allison Stevens
  • Carrie Richmond


Individual member: Dawn McMillan, member of the 2016 YALSA Symposium Marketing and Planning Taskforce

Chair: Traci Glass, Chair of the Great Graphic Novels for Teens

Group: 2016 Margaret Edwards Award Committee (Chair Valerie D. Davis, Campbell (Ky.) County Public Library; Dr. Joni Richards Bodart, San Jose (Calif.) State University School of Information; Elizabeth A. Burns, New Jersey State Library, Talking Book & Braille Center, Trenton, N.J.; Jose M. Ocasio, LaPlace (La.) St. John the Baptist Parish Library; Diane P. Tuccillo, Fort Collins (Colo.) Poudre River Public Library District).


Individual member: Melanie Wachsmann, administrative assistant of the Amazing Audiobooks Committee

Chair: Tara Smith, Chair of the Publications Advisory Board


Individual member: Sarah Hashimoto, member of Amazing Audiobooks for Young Adults

Chair: Robin Fogle Kurz, Chair of the 2015 William C. Morris Award Committee.


Individual member: Kellie Tilton, administrative assistant of the Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers committee


Individual Member: Gretchen Kolderup (Member Manager for The Hub)

Group: 2012 YA Lit Symposium Planning Taskforce (Kate Pickett, chair, Johnson County Library, Shawnee Mission, KS; Hannah Berry, Aurora Public Library, Aurora, IL; Patricia Ann Carleton, Saint Louis Public Library, Saint Louis, MO; Carolyn A. Dietz, Saint Louis Public Library, Saint Louis, MO; Carla Riemer; and Tom E. Spicer, Arlington Heights Memorial Library, Arlington Heights, IL)