Quick Picks Policies and Procedures

Amazing Audiobooks, along with Quick Picks and Popular Paperbacks, have been transitioned over to the Hub. Transitioning the selected lists to The Hub will offer a better opportunity to highlight books that are being considered for each list in a more timely and easily accessible manner as well as provide members with more virtual participation opportunities. More info can be found here.


To prepare an annual annotated list of recommended books appropriate for reluctant young adult readers.


The list is for young adults (ages 12-18) who, for whatever reasons, do not like to read. The purpose of this list is to identify titles for recreational reading, not for curricular or remedial use.



Anyone may nominate an appropriate title. Each nomination must be submitted on an official form. Nomination forms may be obtained from the YALSA website, from the YALSA office, or from the current committee chair. The chair must receive all nominations at least 60 days prior to the first day of the Midwinter Meeting to be considered.

Field nominations require a second from a Quick Picks committee member. Nominations must be submitted on the official form.

The chair informs the committee of field nominations, which will remain active until all nominations are closed. If no committee member seconds the field nomination, the title is dropped from consideration.

Nominations from authors or publishers for their own titles are not eligible for the list.


A book must have a copyright date during the current calendar year or have been published from July to December of the previous calendar year to be considered for the list. A book originally published outside the United States will be considered according to its U.S. publication year. Any book which was voted on at the Midwinter Meeting is not eligible for nomination the following year.

Series Fiction: If there are more than two books in year and they are all of equal interest to RR's, the book can be nominated "as a series" which means that committee members only have to read one of the books out that year, rather than the entire selection of books in the series published during the copyright year. Books published in the same series in a different copyright year must be re-nominated and read. All books appearing on the Quick Picks list must have been read by one or more members of the Quick Picks Committee.


All titles should have appeal as self-selected leisure reading for young adults. Books should be evaluated by subject, cover art, readability, format, style and teen feedback. Teen feedback from reluctant readers, is encouraged. Standard selection criteria consonant with the ALA Library Bill of Rights shall be applied.

Committee Members

The committee consists of 11 members who are appointed on a staggered basis to maintain a balance of new and continuing members. Committee members are expected to participate in the nomination process, to evaluate a large number of books, to read all nominated books, to attend all committee meetings and to actively participate in book discussions. Committee members, including administrative assistants and chairs, are appointed by YALSA's President-Elect and serve a term of one year. Committee members may be selected to serve a concurrent, second one-year term based on the member's first year performance and his/her interest and availability in serving another year, for a total of a two-year maximum concurrent term length on the committee.

Members who have served two consecutive years as a member and/or administrative assistant may not be appointed to the same committee for three years from the conclusion of their last term. This guideline will not apply to the Chair.  In extreme circumstances, and at the President’s discretion, an exception may be made if a committee member resigns suddenly.  The President, after discussion with the Committee Chair, may determine that the best course of action is to fill the vacancy with an experienced committee member, and appoint a member in good standing who successfully served on the committee in question during the previous three years.


The primary function of the Chair is to facilitate the committee's charge, to attend to all business matters, to maintain an accurate database of all nominated titles, and to communicate frequently with members regarding nominated books. The Chair also has sole responsibility for contact with publishers. The Chair enjoys the same charge and privilege of reading, nomination, discussing and voting for books as committee members. It is expected, however, that the chair should refrain from discussion of a title until all other members have had the opportunity to speak. The chair is appointed for a one-year term by the Vice-President/President-Elect of YALSA."


Selection of the annual list will be made during the last committee meeting at the Midwinter Meeting. Members can vote only on nominated books they have read. The final list will include books receiving seven (7) or more "yes" votes. In case of emergency, a member who has participated in the Midwinter Meeting discussions but must miss the final vote may give a signed ballot to the Chair, who will assign a voting proxy. The final vote will be counted by the Booklist consultant and the Chair.

Comments from Observers

Observers are welcome at all committee meetings. Prior to discussion of each title, observer comments will be invited. Publishers are requested to refrain from promoting their own books. Observers must be registered for the conference or have guest badges.

Availability of Lists for General Distribution The list of nominations will be updated monthly. The cumulative list will be available electronically on YALSA-BK. The final list of nominations will be available after November 1st.

The final list of selected titles will be available, as a press release, from the ALA Public Information Office the morning following the committee's last meeting. The press release will be posted on YALSA-BK. The list is also available on the YALSA website.

Revised by the YALSA Board June 2008 and August 2009.