Frances Henne/YALSA/VOYA Grant Application

The Frances Henne/YALSA/ VOYA ( Voice of Youth Advocates) Research Grant annually provides $1,000 in seed money for small scale projects which will encourage research that responds to the YALSA Research Agenda (PDF), which was adopted by the YALSA Board in October 2011.


  1. Applicants must be personal members of YALSA, including student members, although the research project may be undertaken by an individual, an institution, or by a group.
  2. The proposed research must be a response to the  visionmissiongoals, and research agenda (PDF) of YALSA,  and for the general area of library service to young adults.
  3. Proposals must be submitted online and  must include the following:
a. Title
b. Objectives
c. Problem Statement/Questions to be Answered
d. Methodology, including how data will be collected and analyzed.
e. Significance of the project, in light of previous research.
f. Projected timeline (Project should be completed within a 12 to 18 month period, and a report filed with YALSA within six months of completion of the study.)
g. Indicate the way that the money will be used.
h. Brief biographical data on researcher on a separate sheet, with contact information including e-mail, as well as the researcher's ALA membership number.

Selection of the recipient will be made by the Frances Henne Jury and announced after the Midwinter Meeting. Research proposals will be solicited throughout the year following each Midwinter Meeting. Deadline for receipt of proposals will be December 1 prior to the Midwinter Meeting when selection is made. Selection will be based on the criteria indicated in Section II above.

Announcement of the recipient will be made after the Midwinter Meeting and the grant will be presented at the YALSA Membership Meeting at the Annual Conference. Check will be made out to the grant recipient unless otherwise specified.

The Frances Henne Research Grant is sponsored by Voice of Youth Advocates.

Winners are required to write a 500-word summary of their research project within one year of completion, to be considered for publication by YALSA. In addition, winners are encouraged to write a more substantial article for publication.  ALA/YALSA has the right of first consideration for publication of research results.  Co-publication by VOYA is permitted, because VOYA is the donor of the grant money.

Grant proposals must be submitted online by December 1 of each year.

Refer requests for information to:

Phone: 1-800-545-2433 x 4387 or

Applications are due Dec. 1.


1991 - no recipient
1992 - Joan Atkinson
1993 - no recipient
1994 - Kathy Latrobe & Michael Havener (co-recipients)
1995 - no recipient
1996 - Evie Wilson Lingbloom, Carol Doll and Barbara Carmody
1997 - no recipient
1998 - no recipient
1999 - Sheila B. Anderson and John P. Bradford
2000 - Kay Bishop and Patricia Bauer
2001 - Patrick Jones
2002 - Teri Lesesne
2003 - Kelley McDaniel
2004 - Amy Alessio and Nick Buron
2005 - no recipient
2006 - Rebecca J. Cohen
2007 - Holly Anderton and Karen Brooks-Reese
2008 - Arlene Weber Morales
2009 - Amy Alessio and Marc Aronson
2010 - Janet Newsum and Marcia Mardis
2011 - Shannon Crawford Barniskis
2012 - Sylvia Vardell
2013 - Rachel McGee
2014 - Crystle Martin
2015 - Ligaya Scaff