Welcome to the Caldecott Medal Home Page!

the randolph caldecott medal image


Click here for Caldecott Medal Winners and Honor Books, 1938-Present

The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. 

2014 Medal Winner

Locomotive by Brian FlocaLocomotive, illustrated by Brian Floca, is the 2014 Caldecott Medal winner. The book was written by Brian Floca and published by Atheneum Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing.
All aboard! Accompany a family on an unforgettable weeklong train trip from Omaha to Sacramento in 1869. Brian Floca’s dramatic watercolor, ink, acrylic and gouache illustrations incorporate meticulously-researched portraits of the train, the travelers and the crew as they traverse the American landscape on the new transcontinental railroad.
“The committee was impressed with Floca’s ability to creatively capture the immensity and inner workings of the early locomotive and combine it with a family’s adventurous journey west,” said Caldecott Medal Committee Chair Marion Hanes Rutsch.

2014 Honor Books

Journey by Aaron BeckerJourney, written and illustrated by Aaron Becker and published by Candlewick Press 
Finding a magical red crayon, a bored and lonely girl draws a new door on her bedroom wall that leads her to a wondrous but perilous new world. Her drab, sepia-toned, humdrum reality gives way to sumptuous, lushly-hued watercolor and pen and ink landscapes.

Flora and the Flamingo by Molly IdleFlora and the Flamingo, written and illustrated by Molly Idle and published by Chronicle Books LLC
The budding relationship between an awkward young girl and a graceful flamingo is revealed through carefully orchestrated flaps. The minimalist setting, limited color palette, use of white space and page turns create a timeless and joyful visual experience.  The call-and-response of this balletic duet is cinematic and comedic.

Mr. Wuffles! by David WiesnerMr. Wuffles! written and illustrated by David Wiesner and published by Clarion Books, an imprint of Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company
Mr. Wuffles finds a new toy that is actually a tiny spaceship in this nearly wordless science fiction tale of epic and miniature proportions. Crisp watercolor and India ink illustrations shine in an innovative graphic novel, picture book hybrid featuring hidden worlds, alien languages and one peeved cat.

Members of the 2014 Caldecott Medal Committee are Chair Marion Hanes Rutsch, Chevy Chase, Md.; Deborah A. Burns, Chicago Public Library; Dr. Cora Phelps Dunkley, University of South Florida School of Information, Tampa, Fla.; Carol A. Edwards, Denver Public Library; Judy Freeman, Children’s Literature Consultant, Highland Park, N.J.; Rachel Fryd, Free Library of Philadelphia; Carl A. Harvey, II, North Elementary School, Noblesville, Ind.; Travis Jonker, Wayland Union Schools, Dorr, Mich.; Carla J. Kozak, San Francisco Public Library; Dennis J. LeLoup,  Avon (Ind.) Intermediate Schools; Miriam Medow, Oakland (Calif.) Public Library; Leslie M. Molnar, Cleveland; Kathy G. Short, University of Arizona, Tucson; and Blanche Woolls, Glendale, Calif.
We'd like to thank Natasha J. Forrester, Multnomah County Library District, Portland, Ore., a member of the 2014 Caldecott Medal Committee from January 2013 through December 2013, who was unable to attend the Midwinter Meeting and vote on the final winners.
The Newbery and Caldecott Medals and Honor Book seals are property of the American Library Association and cannot be used in any form or reproduced without permission of the ALA Office of Rights and Permissions.

To ALSC Literary & Related Awards Main Page