Penguin Young Readers Group Award

This award, made possible by an annual gift from Penguin Young Readers Group, provides a $600 stipend to up to four children's librarians to attend their first ALA Annual Conference.

Current Penguin Award Winners
Past Penguin Award Winners


  • Each applicant will be judged on the following:
    • Involvement in ALSC, as well as any other professional or educational association of which the applicant was a member, officer, chairman, etc.
    • New programs or innovations started by the applicants at the library in which he/she works
    • Library Experience


  • Applicants must:
    • Be personal members of ALSC as well as ALA; organizational members are not eligible
    • Work directly with children in elementary, middle schools or public libraries
    • Have less than ten years, but more than one year, of experience as a children's librarian by the opening of the Annual Conference
    • No previous attendance at an ALA Annual Conference

How to apply 

The ALSC Grant Administration committee is no longer accepting applications for the Penguin Young Readers Group Award. The 2016 winner will be announced  via press release in November 2015. 

Applications for the 2017 grant will open in fall 2016.

Announcement of winners

 Winners of the 2016 Penguin Grant will be announced in November 2015 via press release on

Committee resources

Grants Administration Committee Manual (Word)
Grants Administration Committee Manual (PDF)