Press releases

Sign up for ALSC newsletters and alerts    

Press Release Archive

2017 press releases

Click on the headlines below for the latest news from the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC).

2018 Bill Morris Seminar Applications Now Open!
Western Washington University and the Whatcom County Library System chosen as site for 2018 Arbuthnot Lecture

ALSC announces winners of 2017 Bound to Stay Bound, Melcher Scholarships

ALSC Releases Comforting Reads for Difficult Times Booklist

ALSC Releases 2017 Summer Reading Lists

The 2017 guide to the Newbery and Caldecott awards

ALSC seeks research-to-practice webinar proposals

Libraries fuel cultural understanding and acceptance through Día, April 30

Naidoo elected ALSC 2018-2019 president

ALSC invites applications for 2018 Arbuthnot Lecture with Naomi Shihab Nye
Nevada County (California) Community Library awarded 2017 Baker & Taylor Summer Reading Grant
ALA strongly protests rollback of protections for our nation’s transgender students

PLA and ALSC release new Every Child Ready to Read® toolkit for training early childhood educators

ALSC announces 2017 Notable Children's Videos

2017 Charlemae Rollins President's Program on Families & Digital Technology

ALSC names 2017 Notable Children's Books

ALSC recipient of 2017 GLBTRT Award for Political Activism

ALSC announces 2017 Notable Children’s Recordings

American Library Association announces 2017 youth media award winners

Naomi Shihab Nye to deliver 2018 Arbuthnot Honor Lecture

Kelly Barnhill, Javaka Steptoe win Newbery, Caldecott Medals

Nikki Grimes wins 2017 Wilder Award

John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, Nate Powell win 2017 Sibert Medal
Listening Library wins 2017 Odyssey Award for Anna and the Swallow Man
Laurie Keller wins Geisel Award for 'We Are Growing! A Mo Willems’ Elephant & Piggie Like Reading! Book'

Ryan Swenar wins 2017 Carnegie Medal for Drum Dream Girl

Raúl González y Juana Medina ganan premios Pura Belpré

Raúl Gonzalez, Juana Medina win Pura Belpré Awards

2017 Batchelder Award honors Enchanted Lion Books for 'Cry, Heart, But Never Break'

Angela Reynolds receives 2017 Bechtel Fellowship

ALSC provides $60k in Strengthening Communities Through Libraries grants to 12 libraries