Book & Media Awards

Past Newbery, Caldecott, and Legacy Award Acceptance Speeches

List with downloads of Newbery, Caldecott and Legacy Award Winning Speeches

ALSC fosters values of respect and equality, and therefore accepts media award submissions from all. However, before you submit works for consideration for ALSC awards and notable lists, please visit the FAQ page prior to submission.

Frequently Asked Questions

information for publishers and producers pertaining to alsc's awards.Click on the red Publisher Information button for easy, one-stop access to rosters, terms & criteria, submissions process, and more.

The ALSC media awards below are announced every January at a Monday morning press conference that takes place during the American Library Association Midwinter Meeting. Use the left-hand navigation for more detailed information regarding ALSC's book and media awards.

(John) Newbery Medal
The Newbery Medal honors the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

(Randolph) Caldecott Medal
The Caldecott Medal honors the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

(Mildred L.) Batchelder Award
The Batchelder Award is given to an American publisher for a children's book considered to be the most outstanding of those books originally published in a language other than English in a country other than the United States, and subsequently translated into English and published in the United States.

(Pura) Belpré Medal
The Belpré Medal honors a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose works best portray, affirm, and celebrate the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.

(Theodor Seuss) Geisel Medal
The Theodor Seuss Geisel Medal honors the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished contribution to the body of American children’s literature known as beginning reader books published in the United States during the preceding year.

(ALSC/Booklist/YALSA) Odyssey Award for Excellence in Audiobook Production
The Odyssey Award will be awarded annually to the best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults, available in English in the United States.

(Robert F.) Sibert Informational Book Medal
The Sibert Medal honors the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished informational book published during the preceding year.

Children's Literature Legacy Award
The Legacy Award honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.

Award-Related Merchandise

Are you looking for award seals to embellish your books? What about literature guides to the youth media awards, or a poster to decorate your library? Please visit the Awards Product page at the ALA store to find what you need! Check out the following links for specific award-related merchandise:

Media Award Acceptance Speeches: Audio Downloads (in the middle of the FAQ page)

Book Seals & Images

Award seal purchases and rights and permissions pertaining to use of award and seal images

More Children’s Book Awards from ALA, ALA Affiliates, and Other Organizations