Professional Awards & Grants

Every year, more than $100,000 is given away through ALSC's professional awards, grants, and scholarships. Please click on the individual award or grant for application information. For information about scholarships please click here.

A list of the 2015 Professional Award winners is now available.  Congratulations to all of our winners!

Louise Seaman Bechtel Fellowship

This fellowship provides a $4,000 stipend to allow a qualified children’s librarian to spend a month or more reading at the University of Florida’s Baldwin Library of Historical Children’s Literature, which contains a special collection of 85,000 volumes of children’s literature published mostly before 1950.

The deadline for 2015 applications has passed. 2016 applications will open in fall 2015.

The Penguin Young Readers Group Award

This award provides a $600 stipend, provided by Penguin Young Readers Group, for up to four winners to attend their first ALA Annual Conference.  Applicants must have fewer than 10 years of experience as a children’s librarian and work directly with children.

The 2015 Penguin Grant winners have been announced.  2016 applications will open in fall 2015.

ALSC Baker & Taylor Summer Reading Grant

This $3,000 grant provides financial assistance to a public library for developing an outstanding summer reading program for children.

The 2015 Summer Reading Program Grant Winners has been announced. 2016 applications will open in fall 2015.

The Maureen Hayes Author/Illustrator Award

This $4,000 award was established with funding from Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing, in honor of Maureen Hayes, to bring together children and nationally recognized authors/illustrators by funding an author/illustrator visit to a school or public library that has not before had the opportunity to host one.

The 2015 Maureen Hayes Award Winner has been announced. 2016 applications will open in fall 2015.

ALSC Distinguished Service Award

This award honors an individual member who has made significant contributions to and an impact on, library services to children and ALSC.  The recipient receives $1,000 and an engraved pin at the ALSC Membership Meeting during the ALA Annual Conference.

The 2015 Distinguished Service Award winner has been announced. 2016 applications will open in fall 2015.

Light the Way: Library Outreach to the Underserved Grant

This $3,000 grant is sponsored by Candlewick Press in honor of author Kate DiCamillo and the themes represented in her books.  The grant will be awarded to a library with exceptional outreach to underserved populations in efforts to help them continue their service. 

The  2015 Light the Want Winner had been announced. 2016 applications will open in fall 2015.


Each year the ALSC office receives almost 3,000 newly published books, videos, audiobooks and recordings from children’s trade publishers for award and notables consideration.  At the end of the year, after the awards have been given out, ALSC selects three libraries to receive a Bookapalooza collection of these materials (estimated to be worth $10,000 each) to be used in a way that creatively enhances their library service to children and families. 

The 2015 Bookapalooza winners have been announced. 2016 applications will open in fall 2015.