Children's Book Awards - from other organizations

The list of awards below was originally published in Children and Libraries (Vol. 13, no. 3/Fall 2015). The issue's theme was diversity. The list contains a sampling of book awards and recommended reading lists that highlight high-quality literature for young people about diverse peoples and triumphs of the human spirit. 

American Library Association (ALA)

Focus:  ten books written for adults that have special appeal to young adults (ages 12 through 18).
ALA, Feminist Task Force of the Social Responsibilities Round Table 
Focus: books with significant feminist content.
Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults
Focus: the best nonfiction book published for young adults (ages 12-18).
Best Fiction for Young Adults
Focus: recommended reading for ages 12 to 18.
ALA, Ethnic & Multicultural Information Exchange Round Table
Focus: books that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values. 

Michael L. Printz Award

Focus: a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature.
ALA, Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table
Focus: books with significant and authentic GLBTQ content.
Focus: books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience.
ALA, Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table
Focus: books relating to the GLBT experience.


ALA Affiliates

Affiliate organizations of the American Library Association are groups having a purpose or interests similar to those of the Association. Affiliate status requires a formal application process, ALA Executive Board review and recommendation, and ALA Council action. 
ALA Affiliates are independent organizations, not official units of ALA. As such, the awards administered by ALA Affiliate groups are not included in ALA's Youth Media Award announcements at the annual ALA Midwinter Meeting.

American Indian Youth Literature Award
American Indian Library Association
Focus: writing and illustrations by and about American Indians.

Asian/Pacific American Librarians Association
Focus: books about Asian/Pacific Americans and their heritage.

Sydney Taylor Book Award

Association of Jewish Libraries
Focus: books that authentically portray the Jewish experience.

Other Organizations

Jane Addams Children's Book Awards
Jane Addams Peace Association
Focus: books that effectively promote the cause of peace, social justice, world community, and equality.

Consortium of Latin American Studies Programs
Focus: books that authentically and engagingly portray Latin America, the Caribbean, or Latinos in the U.S.
Arab American National Museum
Focus: books written by and about Arab Americans.

The Christopher Awards

The Christophers
Focus: media that affirm the highest values of the human spirit.
Council for Exceptional Children
Focus: books that appropriately portray individuals with developmental disabilities.
Ezra Jack Keats Foundation
Focus: books that portray universal qualities of childhood, strong and supportive family, and multiculturalism.
Middle East Book Award
Middle East Outreach Council
Focus: books for children and young adults that contribute meaningfully to understanding of the Middle East.
We Need Diverse Books
Focus: books that best exemplify Myers’s commitment to providing children with powerful mirrors and windows.
Jewish Book Council
Focus: books of Jewish interest.

Notable Books for a Global Society

International Reading Association
Focus: books that enhance understanding of individuals and cultures throughout the world.
Museum of Tolerance
Focus: books that deal with issues of tolerance, diversity, and social justice.
Texas State University
Focus: literature that depicts the Mexican American experience.

Skipping Stones Honor Awards

Skipping Stones Magazine
Focus: multicultural and nature books.
National Council for the Social Studies
Focus: social studies-related books that depict ethnicity and race relations sensitively and accurately.