Routledge Distance Learning Librarianship Conference Sponsorship Award

Submission Deadline: December 7, 2018

This conference sponsorship award honors any individual ACRL member working in the field of, or contributing to the success of distance learning librarianship or related library service in higher education.

The award is administrated by the ACRL Distance Learning Section (DLS).


A plaque to honor the winner’s achievements and $1,200 to attend the ALA Annual Conference sponsored by Routledge/Taylor & Francis Group.


Nominees should have demonstrated achievements in one or more of the following areas:

  • Support for distance learning librarianship and library services, e.g., service to students and faculty, innovation and/or leadership
  • Participate in the creation and/or implementation of distance library programs or services of exemplary quality
  • Successful collaboration with faculty in support of information literacy and/or other aspects of library instruction or services for distance students
  • Significant research, publication, or presentations in areas of distance learning librarianship

Application/Nomination Process

Applicants or nominators must send one completed copy of the award nomination form (fillable PDF file) to the DLS Award Co-Chairs, Melissa Atkinson, Abilene Christian University, E-mail: or Cynthia L. Thomes, University of Maryland University College, E-mail: Self-nominations are also encouraged.

Submissions must also include three letters of nomination or support (maximum two pages double spaced in 12 point Times New Roman font) and a current resume/curricula vitae (CV). Completed applications and all supporting materials must be received by the specified deadline. Incomplete submissions will not be considered.

If possible, please submit a high resolution photo of the nominee (at least 300 dpi). The photo will be used to make the official winner announcement immediately after the ALA Midwinter Meeting.

Questions? Contact Melissa Atkinson,, Cynthia L. Thomes,, or ACRL Program Officer Chase Ollis at

View the full award committee roster here.

Submission Deadline: December 7, 2018

Previous Recipients

2018 – Marcia E. Rapchak, Duquesne University
2017 – Heather Blicher, Northern Virginia Community College
2016 – Elizabeth Brumfield, Prairie View A&M University
2015 – Christina Sibley, Arizona Western College
2014 – Frederick Stielow, American Public University System
2013 – Jane M. Hutton, West Chester University
2012 – Johanna Ruth Tuñón, Nova Southeastern University
2011 – Cassandra Kvenild, University of Wyoming
2010 – Thomas E. Abbott, University of Maine at Augusta
2009 – Jack Fritts, Benedictine University
2008 – Harvey Gover, Washington State University Tri-Cities
2007 – Anne Marie Casey, Central Michigan University
2006 – Monica Hines Craig, Central Michigan University
2005 – Martha Kreszock, Appalachian State University
2004 – Susan S. Lowe, University of Maine System