EBSCO Community College Learning Resources Leadership Award

This annual award recognizes significant achievement in the areas of community college leadership.


$750 cash plus citation for the award winner, sponsored by EBSCO Information Services.


Individuals who are current ACRL/CJCLS members are eligible to receive the award. Nominations will be kept on file for three consecutive years.


Nominees for the leadership award should demonstrate significant achievement in advocacy of learning resources/library programs or services, or leadership in professional organizations that are associated with the mission of community, junior, or technical colleges.


Nominations should consist of the nomination form, a narrative letter describing the achievements, and any supporting attachments. Nominations must be emailed to Abbie J. Basile, Tidewater Community College, E-mail: abasile@tcc.edu or Sandy C. McCarthy, Washtenaw Community College, E-mail: mccarthy@wccnet.edu.

If possible, please submit a high resolution photo of the nominee (at least 300 dpi). The photo will be used to make the official winner announcement immediately after the ALA Midwinter Meeting.

View the full awards committee roster here.

Submission Deadline: December 2, 2016

Previous Learning Resources Leadership Award Recipients

2017 – John Walsh
2016 – Pearl Ly
2015 – Mary Ann Sheble
2014 – David M. Rodriguez
2013 – Linda Baker
2012 – Mary Ann Laun
2011 – Melora P. Mirza 
2010 – No recipient
2009 – Kenley Neufeld
2008 – No recipient
2007 – David R. Dowell
2006 – Susan Anderson
2005 – Susan M. Maltese
2004 – Carolyn Norman
2003 – Mary Carr
2002 – Cynthia Steinhoff
2001 – Cary Sowell
2000 – Juanita Karr
1999 – Wanda Johnston Bahde
1998 – Bernard Fradkin
1997 – Gretchen H. Neill
1996 – Margaret A. Holleman
1995 – W. Lee Hisle
1994 – Imogene L. Book
1993 – Gloria Terwilliger
1992 – Paul E. Dumont
1991 – James O. Wallace
1990 – Charles R. Peguese