Instruction Section Miriam Dudley Instruction Librarian Award

Submission Deadline: Friday, December 7, 2018

This award recognizes an individual librarian who has made an especially significant contribution to the advancement of instruction in a college or research library environment. The award honors Miriam Dudley, whose pioneering efforts in the field of bibliographic instruction led to the formation of the ACRL Instruction Section (formerly ACRL Bibliographic Instruction Section).


A plaque and a $1000.00 cash award, sponsored by the Instruction Section, are presented during the Instruction Section program at the ALA Annual Conference.


Nominees should have achieved distinction in one or more of the following areas:

  • Planning and implementation of an academic instruction program in a library environment that has served as a model for other programs nationally or regionally
  • Production of a body of research and publication that has a demonstrable impact on the concepts and methods of teaching and information-seeking strategies in a college or research institution
  • Sustained participation in organizations, at the regional or national level, devoted to the promotion and enhancement of academic instruction in a library environment
  • Promotion, development, and integration of education for instruction in ALA accredited library schools or professional continuing education programs that have served as models for other courses and programs 


Electronic submissions are required. Nominations must be submitted with a completed nomination form, and a letter of support detailing the nominee’s qualifications for the award. Additional letters of support are encouraged, up to three will be considered.

Please submit a high resolution photo of the nominee (at least 300 dpi). The photo will be used to make the official winner announcement immediately after the ALA Midwinter Meeting.

Nominators:  Please include your name, mailing address, email address, and phone number.

E-mail the nomination to IS Miriam Dudley Award Chair, Jennifer E. Knievel, University Of Colorado Libraries, T: (303) 492-8887, E-mail:

View the full award committee roster here.

Note: Nominees will be judged on an individual basis. This award cannot be given to a pair or group of individuals.

Submission Deadline: Friday, December 7, 2018


2018 – Sharon Mader
2017 – Mary MacDonald
2016 – Wendy Holliday
2015 – Lisa Janicke Hinchliffe
2014 – Esther Stampfer Grassian
2013 – Ellysa Stern Cahoy
2012 – Barbara J. Mann
2011 – No recipient
2010 – Beth S. Woodard
2009 – Trudi E. Jacobson
2008 – Craig Gibson
2007 – Debra L. Gilchrist
2006 – Mary Jane Petrowski
2005 – Ilene F. Rockman
2004 – William Miller
2003 – Loanne Snavely
2002 – Randy Hensley
2001 – Patricia Iannuzzi
2000 – Carol Collier Kuhlthau
1999 – Mary Reichel
1998 – Lori Arp
1997 – Patricia Senn Breivik
1996 – Barbara A. MacAdam
1995 – Lizabeth (Betsy) Wilson
1994 – Cerise Oberman
1993 – Hannelore Rader
1992 – Betsy Baker
1991 – Carla Stoffle
1990 – Joan Ormondroyd
1989 – Maureen Pastine
1988 – Sharon Hogan
1987 – Evan Ira Farber
1986 – Virginia Tiefel
1985 – Carolyn Kirkendall
1984 – Thomas Kirk

Sponsorship provided by Elsevier Science, Ltd from 1984-2009