Ilene F. Rockman Instruction Publication of the Year Award

This annual award recognizes an outstanding publication related to instruction in a library environment published in the preceding two years. The award honors Ilene F. Rockman's professional contributions to academic librarianship in the area of information literacy. This award is administered by the Instruction Section.


$1,000 award and a plaque, sponsored by Carrick Enterprises. The award is presented in odd years virtually and during the ACRL Conference.


Publications are judged on the basis of relevance to the field of instruction in academic or research libraries, originality, timeliness, and quality of writing.

Note: The Awards Committee has developed a rubric in an effort to narrow the pool of nominations and to provide some guidance during the committee's selection process. Rubric scores are not the deciding factor for each year's selection. You can view the rubric here.


Publications include journal articles, books, book chapters, and published proceedings. Submitted publications may be authored by one or more individuals, a group, organization, or committee. Instruction Section publications are not eligible for award consideration. Publications from 2018 and 2019 can be considered for the 2020 award.


Electronic submissions are required. Nominations must include a letter supporting the publication and a complete citation of the publication. Whenever possible, an electronic version of the article, book, etc., should also be included.

Send nominations to the Award Committee Chair, Clarence Dale Maybee, Purdue University,

View the full Award committee roster here.

2020 Recipient

Photo of Amanda L. Folk

Amanda L. Folk, for her article "Reframing Information Literacy as Academic Cultural Capital: A Critical and Equity-Based Foundation for Practice, Assessment, and Scholarship"

Previous Recipients

  • 2019 — Stefanie R. Bluemle for her article “Post-Facts: Information Literacy and Authority after the 2016 Election"
  • 2018 — Jennifer E. Nutefall, as editor of the book Service Learning, Information Literacy, and Libraries.
  • 2017 — Kelly McElroy and Nicole Pagowsky for their two-volume book, Critical Libary Pedagogy Handbook.
  • 2016 — Heather Jagman and Troy Swanson for their book, Not Just Where to Click: Teaching Students How to Think about Information.
  • 2015 — Emily Drabinski for her article, "Toward a Kairos of Library Instruction."
  • 2014 — Wendy Holliday and Jim Rogers, for their article, "Talking About Information Literacy: The Mediating Role of Discourse in a College Writing Classroom."
  • 2013 — Korey Brunetti, Amy R. Hofer, and Lori Townsend, for their article, “Threshold Concepts and Information Literacy."
  • 2012 — Char Booth, the Claremont Colleges Library, for her book, Reflective Teaching, Effective Learning: Instructional Literacy for Library Educators
  • 2011 — Megan Jane Oakleaf, Assistant Professor at the iSchool at Syracuse University, for her article “Information Literacy Instruction Assessment Cycle: A Guide for Increasing Student Learning and Improving Librarian Instructional Skills.”
  • 2010 — Heidi L.M. Jacobs, University of Windsor, for her article, “Information Literacy and Reflective Pedagogical Praxis.”
  • 2009 — Kent State University librarians Carolyn Radcliff, Mary Lee Jensen, Joseph A. Salem, Jr., Kenneth J. Burhanna, and Julie A. Gedeon for their book A Practical Guide to Information Literacy Assessment for Academic Librarians.
  • 2008 — Patrick Ragains, University of Nevada - Reno, for his book, Information Literacy Instruction That Works: A Guide to Teaching by Discipline and Student Population.
  • 2007 — James K. Elmborg, University of Iowa, and Sheril Hook, University of Toronto, Mississauga, for their book, Centers for Learning: Writing Centers and Libraries in Collaboration, Publications in Librarianship #58.
  • 2006 — Michelle Holschuh Simmons, University of Iowa, for her article, "Librarians as Disciplinary Discourse Mediators: Using Genre Theory to Move Toward Critical Information Literacy."

Prior to 2006, this award was known as the IS Publication of the Year Award

  • 2005 — Trudi E. Jacobson, University at Albany and Lijuan Xu, Lafayette College, for their book, Motivating Students in Information Literacy Classes
  • 2004 — Esther Stampfer Grassian and Joan Kaplowitz for their book, Information Literacy Instruction: Theory and Practice and Ann J. Grafstein for her article, "A Discipline-Based Approach to Information Literacy."
  • 2003 — Elmborg, James K. "Teaching at the Desk: Toward a Reference Pedagogy"
  • 2002 Betsy Baker for "Values for the Learning Library"
  • 2001 Linda Shirato for "A LOEX 25-Year Retrospective," a special issue of Reference Services Review
  • 2000 Bonnie Gratch Lindauer for "Defining and Measuring the Library's Impact on Campus-wide Outcomes"
  • 1999 — Christine Bruce for The Seven Faces of Information Literacy
  • 1997 Gloria J. Leckie for "Desperately Seeking Citations: Uncovering Faculty Assumptions about the Undergraduate Research Process"
  • 1996 — Larry Hardesty for "Faculty Culture and Bibliographic Instruction: An Exploratory Analysis"
  • 1995 — Frances F. Jacobson and Michael J. Jacobson for "Representative Cognitive Learning Theories and BI: A Case Study of End User Searching"
  • 1993 Terrence F. Mech and Donald W. Farmer for Information Literacy; Developing Students as Independent Learners