2019 ACRL Award Winners

Division Award Winners

Academic/Research Librarian of the Year Award (Sponsor: GOBI Library Solutions from EBSCO)

Photo of Kaetrena Davis Kendrick
Kaetrena Davis Kendrick
Associate Librarian at the University of South Carolina-Lancaster Medford Library

“Kaetrena Davis Kendrick is a fully engaged and dedicated professional with her finger on the pulse of some of the most relevant and significant issues in academic librarianship today. Her work in the areas of underserved and rural user populations, professional ethics, and morale in the profession are discussed widely and used in graduate library programs. Kaetrena is framing discussions influencing the future of our profession and the next generation of librarians.” - Dr. Jennifer L. Fabbi, ACRL Academic/Research Librarian of the Year Award Committee Chair.

Read the full winner announcement!

Excellence in Academic Libraries Awards (Sponsor: GOBI Library Solutions from EBSCO)

Photo of Swarthmore College library

Swarthmore College
Swarthmore, PA

The social justice theme that infused all of the work presented in Swarthmore College’s materials made them a standout, exemplifying their team approach and thoughtful integration of values." - Irene M.H. Herold, Excellence in Academic Libraries Award Committee Chair.

Application available here.




Photo of College of Western Idaho Library
Community College
The College of Western Idaho
Nampa, ID

“The College of Western Idaho is a college and library that did not exist ten years ago. Now, this library provides a model of best practice for what can be accomplished with creativity, will power, and goodwill. In a decentralized campus, the library was innovative in looking at how to function and provide communal space to support student and campus needs as a library, maker hub, and mobile classroom." - Irene M.H. Herold, Excellence in Academic Libraries Award Committee Chair.

Application available here.


Photo of Case Western Reserve University Kelvin Smith Library
Case Western Reserve University
Cleveland, OH

“The Kelvin Smith Library partners to solve community problems and applies what they do to solve problems within their own community. As quoted in their nomination, ‘Research can be used for the advocacy of communities experiencing disruption and inequality,’ and the library is a shining model of this.” - Irene M.H. Herold, Excellence in Academic Libraries Award Committee Chair.

Application available here.



Read the full winner announcement!

Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award (Sponsors: ACRL, ALCTS, LLAMA, LITA)

Photo of John Price WilkinJohn Price Wilkin
Juanita J. and Robert E. Simpson Dean of Libraries and University Librarian at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

“John Price Wilkin exemplifies the spirit of the Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award through leadership, risk taking, and innovation. John was an early adopter of structured markup languages such as SGML and XML in his work at the University of Michigan as head of the Humanities Text Initiative and head of digital library production service, providing access to digital texts as well as a means for searchability and textual analysis. This work later inspired online publishing efforts at other institutions, including the California Digital Library.” - Bruce Johnson, Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award Committee chair.

Read the full winner announcement!

Section Award Winners

CJCLS Awards (Sponsor: EBSCO Information Services)

Library Resources Leadership Award

Library Program Achievement Award

Photo of Laura Luiz
Laura Luiz, Reference Librarian at Bakersfield College

CLS Innovation in College Librarianship Award (Sponsor: SCELC)

Photo of Bill Jones and Ben Rawlins of SUNY Geneseo
Bill Jones and Ben Rawlins, both of the State University of New York (SUNY)-Geneseo Milne Library

Routledge Distance Learning Librarianship Conference Sponsorship Award (Sponsor: Routledge/Taylor & Francis Group)

Photo of Torrie Raish
Victoria (Torrie) Raish, Online Learning Librarian at Pennsylvania State University

EBSS Distinguished Education and Behavioral Sciences Librarian Award

Photo of Joyce Garczynski
Joyce Garczynski, Assistant University Librarian for Development and Communications at Towson University

ESS De Gruyter European Librarianship Study Grant (Sponsor: De Gruyter Foundation)

Photo of Jennifer Nelson
Jennifer K. Nelson, Robbins Collection, University of California-Berkeley School of Law, for her project “Iucundum mihi est reperiri typographum: A Case Study of an Early Modern Publishing Success Story.”

IS Awards

IS Innovation Award (Sponsor: EBSCO Information Services)

IS Ilene F. Rockman Instruction Publication of the Year Award (Sponsor: Carrick Enterprises)

Photo of Stefanie Bluemle
Stefanie R. Bluemle, Research and Instruction Librarian and Instruction Coordinator at Augustana College, for her article “Post-Facts: Information Literacy and Authority after the 2016 Election"

IS Miriam Dudley Instruction Librarian Award (Sponsor: ACRL Instruction Section)

Photo of Megan Oakleaf
Megan Oakleaf, Associate Professor and Director of Instructional Quality at Syracuse University

PPIRS Marta Lange/SAGE-CQ Press Award (Sponsor: SAGE-CQ Press)

Photo of Lynda Kellam
Lynda Kellam, Social Sciences Data Librarian at the University of North Carolina-Greensboro

RBMS/Leab Exhibition Catalogue Awards (Sponsor: Katharine Kyes Leab and Daniel J. Leab Endowment)

Category 1 Winner (Expensive)

Category 2 Winner (Moderately Expensive)

Category 3 Winner (Inexpensive)

Category 4 Winner (Brochures)

Category 5 Winner (Electronic)

STS Oberly Award for Bibliography in the Agricultural or Natural Sciences (Sponsor: Eunice Rockwood Oberly Endowment)


ULS Outstanding Professional Development Award (Sponsor: Library Juice Academy)


WGSS Achievement in Women's Studies Librarianship Awards (Sponsor: Duke University Press)

Career Achievement

Significant Achievement