Welcome to the (Theodor Seuss) Geisel Award home page!

geisel gold seal image

The Geisel Award is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year.



2015 Medal Winner

Book cover: You Are (Not) Small
You Are (Not) Small
, written by Anna Kang and illustrated by Christopher Weyant, is the Geisel Award winner. The book is published by Two Lions, New York.
In “You Are (Not) Small,” a heated debate quickly ensues when two furry creatures can’t agree on who is big and who is small. As more creatures take sides, the situation escalates until new arrivals put everything into perspective with a BOOM! Everyone soon reaches an understanding that size is relative, and walk away realizing that they have more in common than they thought.
Bringing together expressive ink and watercolor illustrations and cleverly simple text, Kang and Weyant successfully craft a humorous tale. Declarative sentences work with dramatic illustrations to create a lively tension that builds to an unexpected and satisfying conclusion.
“’You Are (Not) Small’ shows that, by pairing energetic pictures with carefully crafted words, even a small story is able to make a big impact.” said Geisel Award Committee Chair Kevin Delecki.

2015 Honor Books

Book cover: Mr. Putter & Tabby Turn the Page
Mr. Putter & Tabby Turn the Page
, written by Cynthia Rylant, illustrated by Arthur Howard and published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company
Mr. Putter and his cat Tabby are excited to participate in a library read-aloud program, but they are nervous when Mrs. Teaberry and her unpredictable dog Zeke want to join. Despite Zeke’s antics, their fears are unfounded when they discover that the event is a success for all involved.

Book cover: Waiting Is Not Easy!
Waiting Is Not Easy!
 written and illustrated by Mo Willems and published by Hyperion Books for Children, an imprint of Disney Book Group
Piggie has a big surprise for Gerald, but does he have the patience to wait? As the day wears on, Piggie remains calm while Gerald experiences a roller coaster of emotions, anticipating his reward. As night falls, their patience pays off with a breathtaking conclusion.

The members of the 2015 Theodor Seuss Geisel Award Committee are: Chair Kevin Delecki, Greene County (OH) Public Library; Claire Arnold, DC Public Library, Washington, D.C.; Lindsay Huth, Arlington Heights (IL) Memorial Library; Jennifer Longee, Durham (NC) Academy Middle School; Sarah Reid, Broome County (NY) Public Library; JoAnna Schofield, Akron-Summit (OH) County Public Library; and Sarah Stippich, Free Library of Philadelphia (PA).