Awards (Professional Recognition)

Tickets available for 2018 Arbuthnot Lecture featuring Naomi Shihab Nye

CHICAGO — The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), Western Washington University, and the Whatcom County Library System announced that tickets for the 2018 May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture featuring Naomi Shihab Nye are now available.

Brickey wins 2018 MAE Award for Best Literature Program for Teens

CHICAGO — The Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), awarded Morgan Brickey, Community Outreach & Programing Librarian at the Arlington (Texas) Public Library the 2018 Margaret A. Edwards (MAE) Award for Best Literature Program for Teens.

Deadline extended: ALA Trustee Citation nominations due March 1

BRYN MAWR, Pennsylvania — United for Libraries is accepting nominations for the ALA Trustee Citation through March 1, 2018.

The ALA Trustee Citation, estab­lished in 1941 to recognize public li­brary Trustees for distinguished service to library development, honors the best contributions and efforts of the esti­mated 60,000 American citizens who serve on library boards.

HARRASSOWITZ award to Lauren Corbett

CHICAGO—The Acquisitions Section of the Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) has selected Lauren Corbett, Director, Resource Services at Wake Forest University’s Z. Smith Reynolds Library, to receive the 2018 HARRASSOWITZ Leadership in Library Acquisitions Award. The award will be presented on June 23 at the ALCTS Awards Ceremony during the 2018 American Library Association (ALA) Annual Conference and Exhibition in New Orleans, La.

Ross Atkinson award given to Mary Case

CHICAGO—The Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) is pleased to name Mary Case, university librarian at the University of Illinois at Chicago, as the 2018 recipient of the Ross Atkinson Lifetime Achievement Award. The award honors the memory of Ross Atkinson, a distinguished library leader, author and scholar whose extraordinary service to ALCTS and the library community-at-large serves as a model for those in the field.

South Carolina State Library receives Maureen Hayes Author/Illustrator Award

CHICAGO -- The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) has awarded the 2018 Maureen Hayes Author/Illustrator Visit Award to the South Carolina State Library, Columbia, South Carolina.

The award, sponsored by Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing, is designed to provide up to $4,000 to an ALSC member’s library to fund a visit from an author/illustrator who will speak to children who might otherwise not have had the opportunity to hear from a nationally known author/illustrator.

St. Lucie County (Florida) Library System awarded 2018 Baker & Taylor Summer Reading Grant

CHICAGO — The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) has awarded the 2018 ALSC/Baker & Taylor Summer Reading Program Grant to the St. Lucie County Library System in Florida.

Susan Yutzey wins a year of free AASL membership

CHICAGO – By sharing the wealth of AASL membership with a colleague, Susan Yutzey has won a free year of AASL membership. Yutzey's name was drawn as a monthly winner of the American Association of School Librarians’ (AASL) Share the Wealth Campaign. By referring Lori Lee to AASL, Yutzey has also been entered to win an AASL National Conference & Exhibition grand prize package, which includes registration, airfare, and hotel accommodations.

AASL opens nominations for Social Media Superstars

CHICAGO – The American Association of School Librarians (AASL) is delighted to announce the return of its social media recognitions, which celebrate social media superstars within the school library profession. Such superstars enrich the profession and its work on behalf of students and school communities by sharing information, expertise, ideas, encouragement, dialog and inspiration widely with stakeholders via a variety of social media channels.

Jewel Davis Selected as 2018 NMRT Emerging Leader

The New Members Round Table (NMRT) is pleased to sponsor Jewel Davis as our 2018 Emerging Leader. The sponsorship consists of a $1000 award towards attendance at ALA Midwinter Meeting in Denver and ALA Annual Conference in New Orleans. As NMRT's Emerging Leader, Jewel will attend ALA Midwinter and Annual to undergo leadership training, and she will work on a team to complete an ALA project. In the culmination of the program, Jewel and her team will present the results of their work in a poster session at ALA Annual 201