Awards (Professional Recognition)

Call for nominations: ASCLA 2018 achievement and recognition awards

The Association of Specialized and Cooperative Library Agencies (ASCLA)'s nomination period for its annual series of achievement and recognition awards is now open. Members are encouraged to nominate their colleagues and peers to recognize exceptional library professionals that make a difference in improving the lives of the people they serve.

Samantha Quiñon named a 2018 LITA Emerging Leader

Samantha Quiñon, Assistant Director and Head of Research & Instruction at Lesley University Libraries in Cambridge (MA), has been selected as one of two LITA-sponsored Emerging Leaders for 2018.

Aisha Conner-Gaten named a 2018 LITA Emerging Leader

Aisha Conner-Gaten, intersectional librarian, activist, and tech enthusiast working at the William H. Hannon Library at Loyola Marymount University in Los Angeles, has been selected as one of two LITA-sponsored Emerging Leaders for 2018.

Nominations open for 2018 Lemony Snicket Prize for Noble Librarians Faced with Adversity

CHICAGO — Librarians face adversity every day, whether they are defending a challenged book or patron, responding to collection and building damage after floods and fires, remaining open as a safe space during civil unrest or fighting to provide services on a limited budget.

Chuong, Moran, Phoenix and Walker receive 2018 Penguin Random House Young Readers Group Award

CHICAGO — The Association for Library Service to Children has awarded the 2018 Penguin Random House Young Readers Group Award to Amanda Chuong, Princeton Public Library (New Jersey); Patricia Moran, Multnomah County Library (Oregon); Julie Phoenix, St. Louis County Library (Missouri); and Sarah Walker, Ferguson Library, Stamford (Connecticut).

Oboler Award Deadline Extended

The Deadline for the Eli M. Oboler Memorial Award has been extended until December 15, 2017. Works that have been published in 2016-2017 are eligible to be nominated.

PLA recognizes four 'I Love My Librarian' Award winners from public libraries

CHICAGO – On Nov. 30, ten librarians were honored with the prestigious 2017 I Love My Librarian Award at a ceremony in New York City. Selected from more than 1,100 nominations submitted by library users nationwide, including educators and members of the public, the winning librarians were recognized for their leadership in transforming lives and communities through education and lifelong learning.

Netanel Ganin named 2018 ALCTS Emerging Leader

CHICAGO—Netanel Ganin, librarian (cataloger) at the Library of Congress National Audio Visual Conservation Center, Packard Campus, has been selected as the ALCTS-sponsored Emerging Leader for 2017-2018. Each year, the Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) sponsors one Emerging Leader who has chosen collections and technical services as a career and is a member of ALCTS. After his year in the Emerging Leader Program, Netanel will serve a one-year term as intern to the ALCTS Board of Directors.

ALA Trustee Citation nominations due Jan. 15

BRYN MAWR, Pennsylvania — United for Libraries is accepting nominations for the ALA Trustee Citation through Jan. 15, 2018.

The ALA Trustee Citation, estab­lished in 1941 to recognize public li­brary Trustees for distinguished service to library development, honors the best contributions and efforts of the esti­mated 60,000 American citizens who serve on library boards.