Awards (Professional Recognition)

Beth Nawalinski named United for Libraries executive director

CHICAGO – Today the American Library Association announced Beth Nawalinski as the new executive director of United for Libraries, effective July 31, 2017. Nawalinski currently serves as deputy executive director of United for Libraries. Following a nationwide search, Nawalinski will fill the position being vacated by the retirement of Sally Reed.   

Baltimore County Public Schools named National School Library Program of the Year

CHICAGO – Baltimore County Public Schools, serving all public schools in Baltimore County, Md., is the American Association of School Librarians’ (AASL) 2017 National School Library Program of the Year (NSLPY) Award recipient. Sponsored by Follett, the NSLPY Award annually recognizes a single school or district-wide school library program that meets the needs of the changing school and library environment and is fully integrated into the school's curriculum. The recipient receives an obelisk – the symbol of school library excellence – and $10,000 toward its school library program.

Anne Mlod and Cinda Gilmore receive AASL Roald Dahl Miss Honey Social Justice Award

CHICAGO - Anne Mlod, school librarian, and Cinda Gilmore, 4th-grade teacher, from Genesee Elementary School in Auburn, N.Y., are the recipients of the 2017 American Association of School Librarians’ (AASL) Roald Dahl Miss Honey Social Justice Award. Sponsored by Penguin Random House, the Roald Dahl Award recognizes collaboration between school librarians and teachers in the instruction of social justice using school library resources.

Amy Bradley receives AASL Intellectual Freedom Award

CHICAGO – Amy Bradley, school librarian at Risley Middle School in Brunswick, Ga., is the 2017 recipient of the American Association of School Librarians’ (AASL) Intellectual Freedom Award. Established in 1982 and sponsored by ProQuest, the award is given for upholding the principles of intellectual freedom as set forth by AASL and ALA. The recipient is awarded $2,000, and $1,000 is awarded to the school library program of the recipient's choice.

Julie Stivers receives AASL Frances Henne Award

CHICAGO – Julie Stivers, school librarian at Mt. Vernon Middle School in Raleigh, N.C., is the recipient of the 2017 American Association of School Librarians’ (AASL) Frances Henne Award. Sponsored by ABC-CLIO, the $1,250 award recognizes a school librarian with five years or less experience who demonstrates leadership qualities with students, teachers and administrators. The award will enable Stivers to attend an AASL National Conference or ALA Annual Conference for the first time.

Warren Drake receives AASL Distinguished School Administrator Award

CHICAGO – Warren Drake, superintendent of schools for the East Baton Rouge Parish (La.) School System, is the recipient of the 2017 American Association of School Librarians’ (AASL) Distinguished School Administrator Award. Sponsored by ProQuest, the $2,000 award recognizes and honors a school administrator who has made worthy contributions to the operations of an exemplary school library and to advancing the role of the school library in the educational program.

2017 RBMS Leab Exhibition Award winners

CHICAGO – The Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Rare Books and Manuscripts Section (RBMS) has selected five winners and one honorable mention for the 2017 Katharine Kyes Leab and Daniel J. Leab “American Book Prices Current” Exhibition Awards.

Francis W. Parker School’s Dot Day project receives AASL Collaborative School Library Award

CHICAGO – Mary Catherine Coleman, Sarah Beebe, Sarah Weitz, Bev Greenberg, and Tisha Johnson from Francis W. Parker School in Chicago, Ill., are the recipients of the 2017 American Association of School Librarians’ (AASL) Collaborative School Library Award for their project “Dot Day: How Do We Work Together as Collaborators to Make Our Mark?” Sponsored by Upstart, the $2,500 award recognizes school librarian and teacher collaboration during the development and implantation of a curriculum-supporting program using school library resources.

William “Will” R. Reed selected for ASCLA’s Cathleen Bourdon Service Award

CHICAGO - William “Will” R. Reed, Manager, Ohio Library for the Blind and Physically Disabled, Cleveland Public Library, has been selected for the 2017 Cathleen Bourdon Service Award administered by the Association of Specialized and Cooperative Library Agencies (ASCLA).


Subscribe to Awards (Professional Recognition)