Member and Customer Service

American Library Association

50 East Huron Street

Chicago, IL 60611

1-800-545-2433

1-312-280-4299

1-312-944-2641, fax

8:30am - 4:30pm (Monday-Friday)

membership@ala.org

Mission

As one of the primary support units for the entire organization, we are committed to member satisfaction and to providing the highest and most efficient service to our members and customers.

Responsibilities

  • Processing of applications and payments for membership, and subscriptions.
  • Order fulfillment of single copy sales publications
  • Processing of claims for missing journals
  • Call Center operations
  • Maintaining the integrity of the membership database
  • Meeting registration management for divisional institutes, symposiums, affiliates, and e-learning courses.

Initiatives & Projects

  • Improve staff communication skills through ongoing departmental training programs
  • Ongoing review of departmental procedures and workflow changes to increase responsiveness to members and improve member/customer satisfaction.
  • Continued research of the latest call center technology, to increase communication and department efficiency.

Staff

Melissa Walling

Director, Membership Development and Customer Service

mwalling@ala.org

Vicki Williams

Manager, Member and Customer Service

vwilliams@ala.org

Liza Carr

Membership Specialist/Customer Service Team Leader

lcarr@ala.org

Brenda Dandridge

Customer Service Representative

bdandridge@ala.org

Tom Ferren

Senior Registration Coordinator

tferren@ala.org

Kyria Redd

Customer Service Representative

kredd@ala.org

Yolonda Washington

Customer Service Representative

ywashington@ala.org

Lara Weaver

Customer Service Representative

lweaver@ala.org