Awards (Professional Recognition)

Hinchliffe wins 2015 ACRL/IS Miriam Dudley Instruction Librarian Award

CHICAGO – Lisa Janicke Hinchliffe, coordinator for information literacy services and instruction at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, is the winner of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Instruction Section’s (IS) Miriam Dudley Instruction Librarian Award. The award honors Miriam Dudley, whose efforts in the field of information literacy led to the formation of IS. The honor recognizes a librarian who has made a significant contribution to the advancement of instruction in a college or research library environment.

Emery and Stone receive Ingram Coutts Innovation Award

CHICAGO —The Association of Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) Collection Management Section (CMS) is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2015 Ingram Coutts Award for Innovation in Electronic Resources Management.

Piercy Award to Myung-Ja Han

CHICAGO — The Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) has named Myung-Ja (MJ) Han, metadata librarian and associate professor of library administration at University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (UIUC), as the recipient of the 2015 Esther J. Piercy Award. The award will be presented on Saturday, June 27 at the ALCTS Awards Ceremony during the 2015 American Library Association (ALA) Annual Conference and Exposition in San Francisco.

Sibley named 2015 Routledge Distance Learning Librarianship Conference Sponsorship Award winner

CHICAGO — Christina Sibley, distance education librarian at Arizona Western College, has been named the 2015 recipient of the Routledge Distance Learning Librarianship Conference Sponsorship Award.

This annual award, sponsored by Routledge/Taylor & Francis Group and administrated by the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Distance Learning Section (DLS), honors an ACRL member working in the field of, or contributing to, the success of distance learning librarianship or related library service in higher education.

PLA awards recognize 15 individuals and public libraries representing excellence

CHICAGO — The Public Library Association (PLA) has announced 15 2015 award winners honoring the best in public library service, innovation and outreach.

Brian Schottlaender wins 2015 Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award

CHICAGO — Brian Schottlaender, Audrey Geisel university librarian at the University of California-San Diego, has been named the 2015 winner of the Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award. Schottalender will receive a cash award and citation during the 2015 ALA Annual Conference in San Francisco.

Named in honor of one of the pioneers of library automation, the Atkinson Award recognizes an academic librarian who has made significant contributions in the area of library automation or management, and has made notable improvements in library services or research.

Robert A. Seal named 2015 ACRL Academic/ Research Librarian of the Year

CHICAGO — Robert A. Seal, dean of university libraries at Loyola University Chicago, is the 2015 Association of College and Research Libraries’ (ACRL) Academic/Research Librarian of the Year. The award, sponsored by YBP Library Services, recognizes an outstanding member of the library profession who has made a significant national or international contribution to academic/research librarianship and library development.

Seal will receive a $5,000 award during the keynote session at 4:15 p.m. on Thursday, March 26, 2015, at the ACRL 2015 Conference in Portland, Oregon.

Putnam County Library receives 2015 Light the Way grant

CHICAGO — The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), has named Putnam County Library in Cookeville, Tennessee the recipient of the 2015 Light the Way: Library Outreach to the Underserved Grant. As the winner of the grant, the library will receive $3,000 for its Books to You! Summer Outreach project.

Winner of 2015 Zora Neale Hurston Award for promoting African-American Literature announced

CHICAGO — Carolyn Garnes, founder and CEO of Aunt Lil’s Reading Room, is the 2015 recipient of the Zora Neale Hurston Award, an annual achievement award administered by the Reference and User Services Association (RUSA), a division of the American Library Association and sponsored by HarperCollins.

Louis Shores Award for excellence in book reviewing names Brad Hooper of Booklist as winner

CHICAGO — The Reference and User Services Association (RUSA), a division of the American Library Association, has selected Brad Hooper of Booklist as the recipient of the 2015 Louis Shores Award, which recognizes outstanding book and media reviewing for libraries.

The Louis Shores Award recognizes an individual reviewer, group, editor, review medium or organization for excellence in reviewing materials for libraries.


Subscribe to Awards (Professional Recognition)