Awards (Professional Recognition)

Burhanna wins inaugural LIRT Librarian Recognition Award

CHICAGO The American Library Association's (ALA) Library Instruction Round Table (LIRT) awarded its first ever Librarian Recognition Award at ALA Annual Conference on Sunday, June 29, 2014 to Kenneth Burhanna, associate professor and assistant dean for engagement and outreach at Kent State University Libraries. The Librarian Recognition Award was created to recognize an individual’s contribution to the development, advancement and support of information literacy and instruction.

United for Libraries honors Kendrick B. Melrose with Major Benefactor Citation

PHILADELPHIA United for Libraries, in conjunction with the Orange County (Fla.) Library System, honored Kendrick B. Melrose with its Major Benefactor Citation for his significant contribution to the creation of the Dorothy Lumley Melrose Center for Technology, Innovation & Creativity.

Cannon Memorial Library, Saint Leo University, honored with LIRT Innovation in Instruction award

CHICAGO The American Library Association's (ALA) Library Instruction Round Table (LIRT) awarded its inaugural Innovation in Instruction Award at ALA Annual Conference on Sunday, June 29, 2014 to Cannon Memorial Library of Saint Leo University in Florida.  The award was accepted by Jacalyn Bryan, assistant professor and reference and instruction services librarian, and Elana Karshmer, instruction program and information literacy librarian on behalf of Cannon Memorial.

AASL Crystal Apple awarded to Marlene Woo-Lun

CHICAGO — The American Association of School Librarians (AASL) President, Gail Dickinson, has selected Marlene Woo-Lun as the recipient of the 2014 Crystal Apple. The Crystal Apple honor is given at the discretion of the AASL president to an individual or group that has had a significant impact on school library programs and students.

Conway's article on digital imaging error wins 2014 Shera prize

CHICAGO — The Library Research Round Table (LRRT) of the American Library Association (ALA) has chosen Paul Conway as the winner of the 2014 Jesse H. Shera Award for Distinguished Published Research for the article “Preserving Imperfection: Assessing The Incidence of Digital Imaging Error in HathiTrust” in Preservation, Digital Technology, & Culture, 42(1), 17-30.

Indianapolis middle school wins 2014 Sara Jaffarian School Library Program Award

CHICAGO — An Indiana middle school library has been recognized by the American Library Association (ALA) for its work in creating an innovative genealogy program for eighth-graders.

Perry Meridian Middle School in Indianapolis won the 2014 Sara Jaffarian School Library Program Award for Exemplary Humanities Programming for its “R.O.A.D. (Research, Observe, Analyze, Discover) I Travel” unit, created in 2013 in partnership with the Indiana State Library and Indiana Historical Society.

Betsy Lobmeyer receives inaugural Roald Dahl Miss Honey Social Justice Award

CHICAGO Betsy Lobmeyer and her project “Charlie’s Ever Warming Blankets” Children in Poverty, is the inaugural recipient of the American Association of School Librarians’ (AASL) Roald Dahl Miss Honey Social Justice Award. Sponsored by Penguin Random House, the Roald Dahl Award recognizes collaboration between school librarians and teachers in the instruction of social justice using school library resources.

ALA announces winner of the first-ever Lemony Snicket Prize for Noble Librarians Faced With Adversity

CHICAGO – Laurence Copel, youth outreach librarian and founder of the Lower Ninth Ward Street Library, New Orleans, is the first recipient of the Lemony Snicket Prize for Noble Librarians Faced With Adversity. Daniel Handler, also known as Lemony Snicket, will present Copel with the prize on June 29 during the American Library Association (ALA) Annual Conference & Exhibition in Las Vegas. Copel will receive a cash prize along with an odd, symbolic object from Handler’s private collection. 

United for Libraries names Dr. Argiro Morgan ALA Trustee Citation recipient

PHILADELPHIA — United for Libraries has named Dr. Argiro Morgan of St. Tammany Parish (La.) Library as the recipient of the ALA Trustee Citation.

The ALA Trustee Citation, established in 1941 to recognize public library trustees for distinguished service to library development, honors the best contributions and efforts of the estimated 60,000 American citizens who serve on library boards. 

Winning libraries share cutting-edge services at 2014 ALA Annual Conference

LAS VEGAS—Does your local library offer cutting-edge library services? Learn how four ALA-recognized libraries are using novel and cost-effective methods to leverage technologies to better serve their communities during the 2014 American Library Association (ALA) Annual Conference session “Cutting-edge Technology in Library Services,” which will be held Saturday, June 28, 2014, from 1 to 2:30 p.m. in the Las Vegas Convention Center, room N259/261.


Subscribe to Awards (Professional Recognition)