Awards (Professional Recognition)

Megan Ozeran wins 2017 LITA/Ex Libris Student Writing Award

Megan Ozeran has been selected as the winner of the 2017 Student Writing Award sponsored by Ex Libris Group and the Library and Information Technology Association (LITA) for her paper titled "Managing Metadata for Philatelic Materials." Ozeran is a MLIS candidate at the San Jose State University School of Information.

Announcing the 2017 John Cotton Dana Library Public Relations Award winners

CHICAGO — After many hours of deliberation the judges for this year’s John Cotton Dana Library Public Relations Awards competition announced eight winners.  Each winning library will receive a $10,000 award from the HW Wilson Foundation.  The following winners will be celebrated June 25 at a reception sponsored by EBSCO during the American Library Association’s 2017 annual conference in Chicago.

Mark Miller named ALA Trustee Citation recipient

BRYN MAWR, Pennsylvania – The American Library Association and United for Libraries has named Mark Miller, chair of the Loudoun County (Va.) Library Board of Trustees, a recipient of the ALA Trustee Citation.

The ALA Trustee Citation, established in 1941 to recognize public library Trustees for distinguished service to library development, honors the best contributions and efforts of the estimated 60,000 American citizens who serve on library boards. 

Satia Marshall Orange recipient of 2017 EMIERT Distinguished Librarian Award

CHICAGO — Satia Marshall Orange, former director of the Office for Literacy and Outreach Services (OLOS), is the recipient of the 2017 American Library Association Ethnic and Multicultural Information Exchange Round Table (EMIERT) Distinguished Librarian Award. The Distinguished Librarian Award recognizes significant accomplishments in library services that are national or international in scope and include improving, spreading, and promoting multicultural librarianship.

Lesley Farmer receives AASL Distinguished Service Award

CHICAGO – Lesley Farmer, professor of library media at California State University Long Beach, is the recipient of the 2017 American Association of School Librarians’ (AASL) Distinguished Service Award. Sponsored by Follett, the $3,000 award recognizes an individual member of the library profession who has, over a significant period, made an outstanding national contribution to school librarianship and school library development.

Beth Nawalinski named United for Libraries executive director

CHICAGO – Today the American Library Association announced Beth Nawalinski as the new executive director of United for Libraries, effective July 31, 2017. Nawalinski currently serves as deputy executive director of United for Libraries. Following a nationwide search, Nawalinski will fill the position being vacated by the retirement of Sally Reed.   

Baltimore County Public Schools named National School Library Program of the Year

CHICAGO – Baltimore County Public Schools, serving all public schools in Baltimore County, Md., is the American Association of School Librarians’ (AASL) 2017 National School Library Program of the Year (NSLPY) Award recipient. Sponsored by Follett, the NSLPY Award annually recognizes a single school or district-wide school library program that meets the needs of the changing school and library environment and is fully integrated into the school's curriculum.

Anne Mlod and Cinda Gilmore receive AASL Roald Dahl Miss Honey Social Justice Award

CHICAGO - Anne Mlod, school librarian, and Cinda Gilmore, 4th-grade teacher, from Genesee Elementary School in Auburn, N.Y., are the recipients of the 2017 American Association of School Librarians’ (AASL) Roald Dahl Miss Honey Social Justice Award. Sponsored by Penguin Random House, the Roald Dahl Award recognizes collaboration between school librarians and teachers in the instruction of social justice using school library resources.

Amy Bradley receives AASL Intellectual Freedom Award

CHICAGO – Amy Bradley, school librarian at Risley Middle School in Brunswick, Ga., is the 2017 recipient of the American Association of School Librarians’ (AASL) Intellectual Freedom Award. Established in 1982 and sponsored by ProQuest, the award is given for upholding the principles of intellectual freedom as set forth by AASL and ALA. The recipient is awarded $2,000, and $1,000 is awarded to the school library program of the recipient's choice.

Julie Stivers receives AASL Frances Henne Award

CHICAGO – Julie Stivers, school librarian at Mt. Vernon Middle School in Raleigh, N.C., is the recipient of the 2017 American Association of School Librarians’ (AASL) Frances Henne Award. Sponsored by ABC-CLIO, the $1,250 award recognizes a school librarian with five years or less experience who demonstrates leadership qualities with students, teachers and administrators. The award will enable Stivers to attend an AASL National Conference or ALA Annual Conference for the first time.