ALA Publishing

ALA Publishing logo

Mission

The ultimate resource for a dynamic profession

The Publishing Department of the American Library Association provides all librarians a comprehensive, one-stop resource for print and digital materials dedicated to professional development, improving library services, and the promotion of libraries, literacy, and reading. All Net Revenues from subscriptions and product purchases are invested in the financial support of ALA’s goals and initiatives.

Imprints, Initiatives & Projects

ALA Editions

Professional library tools and resources—books, digital content, online workshops, and more. Includes the Neal-Schuman imprint and ALA TechSource, providing information on integrating all kinds of technologies in libraries. ALA Editions also publishes textbooks and materials for LIS programs.

ALA Graphics

Posters, bookmarks, gifts, and incentives—including the popular READ posters and the READ Design Studio—that help promote libraries, literacy, and reading.

Booklist Publications

Booklist is the book review magazine of the American Library Association, considered an essential collection development and readers’-advisory tool by thousands of librarians for more than 100 years. Booklist Online includes a growing archive of 135,000+ reviews available to subscribers as well as a wealth of free content offering the latest news and views on books and media. Booklist subscribers also get a quarterly print supplement, Book Links, helping them connect books, libraries, and K-8 classrooms. 

American Libraries

American Libraries, the magazine of the American Library Association, offers a suite of print and electronic publications, appearing 6 times per year in print and offering the weekly e-newsletter AL Direct. For more than 100 years, American Libraries has kept readers informed in print and (increasingly) online, keeping library and information science and technology workers in touch with the profession’s most current concerns.
 
ALA Digital Reference

Dedicated to helping expand ALA Publishing’s ability to meet users wherever they are in the online environment, and whatever their role as an information professional, ALA Digital Reference publishes:

RDA Toolkit—the source for RDA: Resource Description and Access and related resources. RDA Toolkit is the resource to help librarians and information professionals transition from AACR2 to RDA, the new, unified standard that is designed for the digital world and an expanding universe of metadata users. RDA’s content is developed by the international Joint Steering Committee and the project is overseen by the Committee of Principals.

Guide to Reference—The reference librarian’s source of first resort, an authoritative and easy-to-use online source with essential print and web reference resources selected and annotated by the best of the profession. This is the first online version of the ALA Guide to Reference Books.

Online Learning Opportunities from ALA Publishing

Oversight Groups

Staff

Don Chatham, Associate Executive Director dchatham@ala.org
Mary-Jo Bolduc, Senior Administrative Assistant/ Rights & Permissions mbolduc@ala.org
Mary Mackay, Marketing Director mmackay@ala.org
Laurie Borman, Editor & Publisher, American Libraries  lborman@ala.org
Michael Jeffers, Publisher, ALA Editions jjeffers@ala.org
Bill Ott, Editor & Publisher, Booklist Publications bott@ala.org
Rachel Johnson, Director, ALA Graphics rjohnson@ala.org
Troy Linker, Publisher, ALA Digital Reference tlinker@ala.org