Information Technology

40 E. Huron
Chicago, IL 60611
Toll free 800-545-2433
Direct line 312-944-6780
Fax 312-440-9374

Information Technology

Mission

The IT Department supports the technology services of ALA to its staff and membership by investigating new technology, providing training and support materials, and implementing hardware and software platforms that support ALA's Action and strategic direction goals.

Responsibilities

The IT Department offers advice, support, and maintenance in the areas of:

  • Web Services

  • Network Services

  • Telecommunication Services

  • Project Management

  • Database Administration

  • Technical Training

Initiatives & Projects

Updates on our current projects and initiatives can be found on the IT blog at http://itts.ala.org/news.

Member Volunteer Resources

ALA is fortunate to have many member volunteers who add content to our website at www.ala.org. The Content Management System for our website is Drupal 7. Online Learning is available to train our member volunteer content managers in Drupal in our Drupal Sandbox- http://www.ala.org/support/Drupal

Live training is available as a follow-up to the resources on our support site.  Please contact Patrick Harrington at 800-545-2433 x2461 to find out about the next remote training session.

Staff

Director, Information Technology (IT)
Sherri Vanyek - svanyek@ala.org
(800) 545-2433, Ext. 2437
Responsible for the overall direction of IT.

Assistant Director 
Tim Smith - tsmith@ala.org
(800) 545-2433, Ext. 5109
Areas of Responsibility: IT Planning, software applications, infrastructure, database support, and support to the Director

Internet Administrator 
Rob Berquist - rberquist@ala.org
(800) 545-2433, Ext. 5833
Areas of Responsibility: Infrastructure support for ALA websites, Blogs, Sympa, and Wikis

Technical Service Specialist 
Maribeth Chapman - mchapman@ala.org
(800) 545-2433, Ext. 2460
Areas of Responsibility: Hardware/software purchases, ALA mailing lists, Telephone changes, Outlook mail accounts

Database Administrator
Stan Kessler- skessler@ala.org  
(800) 545-2433, Ext. 2462
Areas of Responsibility: Systems Integration, iMIS Membership Database Reporting

eStore Project Manager 
Nathan Strong nstrong@ala.org
(800) 545-2433, Ext. 5863
Areas of Responsibility: eStore/eLearning ecommerce sites

Business Intelligence Analyst/Project Manager  
Brian Willard – bwillard@ala.org
(800) 545-4394, Ext. 4394
Areas of Responsibility: Data Analytics and some Project Management

Project Manager  
Shakir Akbari – sakbari@ala.org
(800) 545-4394, Ext. 5288
Areas of Responsibility: ALA Connect Project Management

Training Specialist
Patrick Harrington - pharrington@ala.org
(800) 545-2433, Ext. 2461
Areas of Responsibility: Admin Support and Training for- ALA Connect, iMIS, Drupal (ALA website), Moodle, Zoom, Adobe Connect, Informz, Windows10. Facilitates New Hire Tech Orientation

Data Analyst (Open)

User Experience Manager (Open)

Training & Staff Resources

Training and Staff Resources are now located at www.ala.org/support.