Program Planning Committee


The program planning committee recommends to the board of directors action to be taken on programs proposed by the interest groups and committees for ALA Annual Conferences. The committee coordinates and reviews program plans submitted by the committees and interest groups to ensure that sufficient planning has occurred and a realistic budget has been prepared. The committee works closely with the education committee and the emerging technologies interest group to identify program topics of interest to LITA membership and works with appropriate interest groups and committees in encouraging the planning of such programs. The committee may itself plan and execute institutes, programs and preconferences of interest to the division. Since preconferences and institutes generate revenue which is instrumental to the support of the LITA division activities in general, the program planning committee encourages a sufficient number of preconferences and institutes to contribute to the economic stability of the division. A member of the committee serves on the program committee of any preconference or institute.


Ms. Natalie Marie DeJonghe (Chair, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2019)
Mr. John J. Hernandez (Vice-Chair, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2019)
Carolyn Kay Coulter (Past-Chair, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2019)
Dani Brecher Cook (Member, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2020)
Dao Rong Gong (Member, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2019)
Janet Hack (Member, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2019)
Courtney Hoffner (Member, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2019)
Marina Morgan (Member, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2020)
George Stachokas (Member, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2020)
Shu - Chen W. Tsung (Member, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2019)
Berika Williams (Board Liaison, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2019)
Mark A. Beatty (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2020)
Jenny Levine (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2020)

Displaying active committee roster as of 08/18/2018. Last retrieved on 08/18/2018. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


One director from the LITA Board and a minimum of three members selected from the division at large, one of whom shall be appointed the committee chair.

The Program Planning Committee Chair also serves as the LITA Representative to the ALA Conference Program Coordinating Team (CPCT). Alternatively, the Chair may officially appoint a committee member to serve as the LITA Representative. The Chair will notify the LITA Office with the name of the LITA Representative to the CPCT so that all rosters and distribution lists can be updated. Action items and items of relevance to LITA are to be reported by the LITA Rep to the LITA President and Executive Director.

Get Involved

LITA values committed and active committee members. Qualified members are welcome to volunteer to serve on this committee. Committee members must have an interest in the work of the committee, be able to participate in Committee meetings when scheduled, e.g., Annual Conferences, Midwinter Meetings, or other times of the year as needed and, be able to contribute to the activities of the committee Express your interest in serving on this or other committees by filling out the application form. Generally, appointments take place once a year, during the spring. Committee service usually begins following Annual Conference, about July 1, for two year terms. Exceptions to this include the LITA National Forum Planning Committee (18 months before the Forum through the December after the Forum), the Nominating Committee (18 months before the election through the election) and, the Awards and Scholarships committees (one year terms).