LITA / Ex Libris Student Writing Award Committee


To solicit nominations and select the best unpublished manuscript submitted by a student author or authors in the area of libraries and information technology. To recognize superior student writing and to enhance the professional development of the winner


Lisa Janicke Hinchliffe (Chair, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2019)
Eric Phetteplace (Past-Chair, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2019)
Sofia A. Slutskaya (Member, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2019)
Mr. Ken Varnum (ITAL Editorial Board, September 21, 2017, to June 30, 2020)
Mark A. Beatty (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2020)
Jenny Levine (Staff Liaison, August 1, 2015, to June 30, 2020)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2018. Last retrieved on 08/19/2018. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


The committee consists of a chair, the editor of ITAL, a member of the LITA Education Committee, and another LITA member.

LITA Connect

The LITA/Ex Libris Student Writing Award Committee's group in LITA Connect is private for Committee members only.

Get Involved

LITA values committed and active committee members. Qualified members are welcome to volunteer to serve on this committee. Committee members must have an interest in the work of the committee, be able to participate in Committee meetings when scheduled, e.g., Annual Conferences, Midwinter Meetings, or other times of the year as needed and, be able to contribute to the activities of the committee Express your interest in serving on this or other committees by filling out the application form. Generally, appointments take place once a year, during the spring. Committee service usually begins following Annual Conference, about July 1, for two year terms. Exceptions to this include the LITA National Forum Planning Committee (18 months before the Forum through the December after the Forum), the Nominating Committee (18 months before the election through the election) and, the Awards and Scholarships committees (one year terms).