Nominating Committee


To present at least two candidates for each office to be filled at the next election. To select the candidates in such a manner as to assure as broad a representation as possible of different types and sizes of libraries, types of service, and geographic distribution of membership.


Abigail H. Goben (Chair, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2019)
Thomas P. Dowling (Member, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2019)
Kelly J. Sattler (Member, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2019)
Jenny Levine (Staff Liaison, March 6, 2018, to June 30, 2019)

Displaying active committee roster as of 08/18/2018. Last retrieved on 08/18/2018. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


The Nominating Committee consists of three members. No member of the Board of Directors shall be appointed to the Nominating Committee. Members may not serve successive terms.

Petition Candidates

Individuals who are not selected by the Nominating Committee may run for office by filing an online petition no later than the end of the ALA Midwinter Meeting preceding the spring election. Candidates must be a current member of LITA. Candidate petitions require the signature of 10 LITA members in order to be included on the ballot.

LITA Connect

The Nominating Committee's group on LITA Connect is private for Committee members only.

Get Involved

LITA values committed and active committee members. Qualified members are welcome to volunteer to serve on this committee. Committee members must have an interest in the work of the committee, be able to participate in Committee meetings when scheduled, e.g., Annual Conferences, Midwinter Meetings, or other times of the year as needed and, be able to contribute to the activities of the committee Express your interest in serving on this or other committees by filling out the application form. Generally, appointments take place once a year, during the spring. Committee service usually begins following Annual Conference, about July 1, for two year terms. Exceptions to this include the LITA National Forum Planning Committee (18 months before the Forum through the December after the Forum), the Nominating Committee (18 months before the election through the election) and, the Awards and Scholarships committees (one year terms).