LITA / OCLC Minority Scholarship in Library and Information Technology

The LITA/OCLC Minority Scholarship, established in 1991, is awarded jointly annually by OCLC, Inc. and the Library and Information Technology Association, a division of the American Library Association, in the amount of $3,000.00.

The scholarship is designed to encourage the entry of qualified persons into the library and automation field who plan to follow a career in that field; who demonstrate potential in and have a strong commitment to the use of automated systems in libraries; and who are qualified members of a principal minority group (American Indian or Alaskan native, Asian or Pacific Islander, African-American, or Hispanic). The recipient must be a U.S. or Canadian citizen. This scholarship is for study in an ALA Accredited Master of Library Science (MLS) program.

Candidates should illustrate their qualifications for this scholarship with a statement indicating the nature of library experience, by letters of reference, and by the personal statement of the applicant's view of what he or she can bring to the profession, emphasizing experiences that indicate a potential for leadership and commitment to library automation. Candidates must not have earned more than 12 credit hours towards a Master of Library Science degree from an ALA Accredited MLS program.

The winner is announced and introduced, if present, at the LITA President's Program held during the Annual Conference of the American Library Association.

The OCLC / LSSI Scholarship Committee reviews applications and selects the scholarship winner.

Application forms and instructions are available at ALA/Divisions Scholarship Program . All applications, references, and transcripts and other documents must be received no later than March 1st, for that year's scholarship.

The following have received the LITA/OCLC Scholarship in Library and Information Technology to date:

  • Alvaro V. Simon, Pratt Institute, Brooklyn, NY, 1991
  • Deborah Torres, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI, 1992
  • Shirley A. Fonseca, San Jose State University, San Jose, CA, 1993
  • Joy Barron, North Carolina Central University, Durham, NC, 1994
  • Jungia Park Yoon, Catholic University of Washington, Washington, DC, 1995
  • Yin-Fen Pao, Wayne State University, Detroit, MI, 1996
  • Julia Leggett, The Catholic University, Washington, DC, 1997
  • Brent Singleton, UCLA, Los Angeles, CA, 1998
  • Carrie Hurst, University of South Florida, Tampa, FL, 1999
  • Martin Knott, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI, 2000
  • Marisa Duarte, Catholic University, Washington, DC, 2001
  • Michelle Baildon, Simmons College, Boston, MA, 2002
  • Roxanna Blackson, University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ, 2003
  • Robin Mae White, University of Arizona, Tucon, AZ, 2004
  • Andres E. Ciriello, University of Maryland, College Park, MD, 2005
  • Marcos Rodriguez, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 2006
  • Heather Devine, San Jose State University, 2007
  • Israel Yanez, San Jose State University, 2008
  • Victoria Chu, University of British Columbia, 2009
  • Sofia Becerra-Licha, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, 2010
  • Diamond Camille Sankey, Wayne State University, 2011
  • Eugene D. Hsue, University of Pittsburgh, 2012
  • Lisa Lynn Tyler, University of Washington, 2013
  • Olivia Dorsey, North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 2014
  • Young-In Kim, Syracuse University, 2015
  • Giao Luong Baker, University of North Texas, 2016

Visit the LITA Awards & Scholarships page for information on additional LITA scholarships.