Applications Open for 2022 AASL Awards

CHICAGO – Applications for the American Association of School Librarians’ (AASL) 2022 awards are now available. AASL members are encouraged to nominate a colleague or themselves to be lauded for their outstanding talent and dedication to the profession as part of this prestigious awards program. AASL awards and grants recognize excellence and showcase best practices in the school library field in categories that include collaboration, leadership, and innovation.

Applications are now open for:

David Satten-López Named 2021 Core/OCLC Spectrum Scholar

CHICAGO—The American Library Association (ALA) has awarded the 2021 Core/OCLC Spectrum Scholarship in Library and Information Technology to David Satten-López, who will begin the MLIS program at Drexel University in Philadelphia (PA) this fall. He is interested in audiovisual materials and increasing the dissemination of digital materials through minimal computing frameworks.

ALA announces Libraries Build Business coaches

Applications for public library participation to open July 19th

AASL awards four Inspire COVID Relief Grants

CHICAGO – Four school libraries from across the country have been awarded American Association of School Librarians' (AASL) Inspire COVID Recovery Grants. Made possible by the generosity of AASL member Marina “Marney” Welmers, the grant program provides funds to addresses collection loss and remote access requirements due to COVID-19 school closures. A first round of recovery grants was awarded in the fall of 2020.

ALA receives National Endowment for the Humanities grant to support Let’s Talk About It: Women’s Suffrage

CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) has been granted $249,999 by the National Endowment for the Humanities: Democracy demands wisdom to implement the Let’s Talk About It (LTAI): Women’s Suffrage humanities discussion project.

The project corresponds to NEH’s “A More Perfect Union” special initiative to demonstrate the critical role the humanities have played in the United States.

Shawnee (Okla.) Middle School Wins ALA’s 2021 Jaffarian Award for Tulsa Race Massacre Program

CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) has awarded its 2021 Sara Jaffarian School Library Program Award to Shawnee (Okla.) Middle School for their program, The Tulsa Race Massacre: Assumptions Cause Conflict in Society.

The $5,000 Jaffarian Award, supported by ALA’s Cultural Communities Fund, recognizes excellence in humanities programming in libraries that serve grades K-8.

IFRT, FTRF and UIUC iSchool Honor Intellectual Freedom Award Winners at Virtual Celebration featuring Banned Author Kyle Lukoff

The ALA Intellectual Freedom Round Table (IFRT), the Freedom to Read Foundation (FTRF), and the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign (UIUC) iSchool invite library professionals and the public to a free virtual celebration for their intellectual freedom award winners on Thursday, June 24th 2021 at 5:00 p.m. CT.

Julius C. Jefferson Jr., ALA President and former FTRF President, will open the celebration with a talk highlighting the value of intellectual freedom awards in the profession and in our culture. 

Public and tribal libraries invited to apply for the NASA@ My Library STEAM initiative

Public and tribal libraries are invited to apply for NASA@ My Library, a STEAM (science, technology, engineering, art, and math) education initiative that will increase and enhance STEAM learning opportunities for library patrons throughout the nation, including geographic areas and populations currently underrepresented in STEAM education.

Maryland Association of School Librarians receives AASL Chapter of the Year Award

CHICAGO – The Maryland Association of School Librarians (MASL) is the recipient of the 2021 American Association of School Librarians’ (AASL) Chapter of the Year Award. The $1,000 award recognizes the AASL Chapter most active and dynamic in achieving the goals of AASL at the state and local level.