Annual Conference

LLAMA President’s Program will explore ways for leaders to handle EDI conflicts

How do you as a manager or library leader handle incidents of discrimination, micro-aggression, and interpersonal rejection in your library? How do you build a culture that reduces the likelihood of equity, diversity, and inclusion (EDI) conflicts erupting?

Explore PBS documentary 'American Creed' with the filmmaker and get a free DVD at 2019 ALA Annual Conference

What does it mean to be American? What holds us together in turbulent times?

In the PBS documentary American Creed, former Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice and Pulitzer Prize-winning historian David M. Kennedy come together from different points of view to explore the idea of a unifying American creed. Their spirited inquiry frames the stories of citizen-activists striving to realize their own visions of America’s promise across deep divides.

LITA @ ALA Annual 2019 – Top Technology Trends

Chicago -- If you’re going to ALA Annual in Washington, DC, don’t miss the latest Top Tech Trends panel.

LITA Top Technology Trends
Sunday, June 23, 2019, 1:00 – 2:30 PM
Location: Washington Convention Center, 146A

Literary Tastes: Celebrating the Best Reading of the Year

What could be better than books and breakfast? Maybe signed books and breakfast? Join your fellow readers and book lovers and listen to some of the year's best authors from RUSA book and media award winners and Best of Lists Authors discuss their works and the craft of writing as well as sign books immediately following the event. 

Literary Tastes: Celebrating the Best Reading of the Year

Sunday, June 23, 8:00 am - 10:00 am

Winners of the 2018 National Friends of Libraries Week Awards to be recognized at United for Libraries' Gala Author Tea

EXTON, Pennsylvania -- Friends of the LeClaire (Iowa) Community Library and Charleston (S.C.) Friends of the Library are winners of United for Libraries’ 2018 National Friends of Libraries Week Awards. Each group received $250 and will be recognized at United for Libraries’ Gala Author Tea, sponsored by ReferenceUSA, at the ALA Annual Conference on Monday, June 24 at 2 p.m.

2020 ALA Annual Conference Program Proposals are Now Open

ALA Conference Services will begin accepting program proposals on June 10, 2019, for the 2020 ALA Annual Conference, to take place in Chicago, IL. on June 25-30, 2020. Once again, proposals will be accepted via one submission site for all ALA Divisions, RoundTables, Committees, and Offices.

The deadline to submit content is September 10, 2019,12:00 Midnight (EST). Please use this submission site.  Your ALA account information will be required to access the submission site.

ALA president to host Cooking Stage demo during ALA Annual Conference & Exhibition

CHICAGO — The life of a library worker can be stressful, with demanding professional and personal schedules that can invite poor health. During the American Library Association (ALA) Annual Conference and Exhibition, ALA President Loida Garcia-Febo will lead a cooking demo from 10 – 10:45 a.m., on Saturday, June 22, at the Cooking Stage on the Exhibits Floor.   

New books, products, special events from ALA Publishing at Annual Conference in Washington DC

Shop and browse the ALA Store at the 2019 ALA Annual Conference & Exhibition for products that meet the widest range of your promotional and continuing education/professional development needs—as well as fun gift items. Located near the main entrance to the Exhibit Hall on the lower level of the Walter E. Washington Convention Center, the ALA Store hours are:

United for Libraries President’s Program to focus on relationship building with lawmakers

EXTON, Pennsylvania — The United for Libraries President’s Program, “How to Hug a Porcupine: Relationship Building with Lawmakers and Why It’s Important,” sponsored by the ALA Public Policy and Advocacy Office, will be held Sunday, June 23, 1 to 2 p.m. at Washington Convention Center, 147B.

Brad Fitch, president and CEO of the Congressional Management Foundation, will discuss how to build relationships with elected officials and effective communication tactics. Libby Post, President/CEO of Communication Services, will moderate.