Awards (Books & Media)

American Library Association announces 2018 youth media award winners

DENVER — The American Library Association (ALA) today announced the top books, video and audio books for children and young adults—including the Caldecott, Coretta Scott King, Newbery and Printz awards—at its Midwinter Meeting in Denver, Colorado.

A list of all the 2018 award winners follows:

John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children’s literature:
“Hello, Universe” written by Erin Entrada Kelly, is the 2018 Newbery Medal winner. The book is published by Greenwillow Books, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers.

'Manhattan Beach,' 'You Don't Have to Say You Love Me,' receive 2018 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction

DENVER — The American Library Association (ALA) selects “Manhattan Beach,” by Jennifer Egan, published by Scribner, as the winner of the 2018 Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction, and “You Don't Have to Say You Love Me: A Memoir,” by Sherman Alexie, published by Little, Brown & Co, a division of Hachette Book Group, as the winner of the 2018 Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction.  The selections were announced this evening at the Reference and User Services Association’s Book and Media Awards (BMAs) sponsored by NoveList, during the ALA Midwinter Meeting & Ex

Swanson Best of LRTS Award to Neville and Henry

CHICAGO—Tina M. Neville and Deborah B. Henry, librarians at Nelson Poynter Memorial Library, University of Florida St. Petersburg have been awarded the 2018 Edward Swanson Memorial Best of LRTS Award for the article, “Repositories at Master’s Institutions: A Census and Analysis”, published in Library Resources and Technical Services (LRTS), volume 61, no. 3 (July 2017), pages 124-133.

Nuth and Blanchat book wins ALCTS Outstanding Publication Award

CHICAGO—The recipients of the 2018 Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) Outstanding Publication Award are Alana Nuth (publishing as Verminski) and Kelly Marie Blanchat for their volume, “Fundamentals of Electronic Resources Management” (ALA Neal-Schuman, 2017).

ALA Video Round Table Notable Videos for Adults Committee releases 2018 list

DENVER – The American Library Association (ALA) Video Round Table Notable Videos for Adults Committee has compiled its 2018 list of Notable Videos for Adults, a list of 15 outstanding films released on video within the past two years and suitable for all libraries serving adults.  Its purpose is to call attention to recent video releases that make a significant contribution to the world of video.  The list is compiled for use by librarians and the general adult populace.

2018 Barbara Gittings Literature Award and Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Award of the Stonewall Book Awards Announced

DENVER - Two of the 2018 Stonewall Book Awards were announced Sunday, Feb. 11 by the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Round Table (GLBTRT) of the American Library Association (ALA), during the ALA Midwinter Meeting and Exhibits, held February 9-13 in Denver, Colorado.

Juana Martínez-Neal y Ruth Behar ganan premios Pura Belpré

DENVER —Juana Martínez-Neal, ilustradora de La Princesa and the Pea; y Ruth Behar, autora de Lucky Broken Girl, fueron seleccionadas como las ganadoras del Premio de Ilustración y el Premio al Autor Pura Belpré 2018, que rinden homenaje a los escritores e ilustradores hispanos cuyas obras constituyan el mejor reflejo, afirmación y celebración de la experiencia cultural hispana en la literatura infantil.

Erin Entrada Kelly, Matthew Cordell win Newbery, Caldecott Medals

DENVER — Erin Entrada Kelly, author of “Hello, Universe” and Matthew Cordell, illustrator of “Wolf in the Snow” are the 2018 winners of the John Newbery and Randolph Caldecott Medals, the most prestigious awards in children’s literature.

Laurel Snyder, Emily Hughes win Geisel Award for 'Charlie & Mouse'

DENVER — Author Laurel Snyder and illustrator Emily Hughes are the 2018 recipients of the Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for “Charlie & Mouse,” published by Chronicle Books. The award was announced today by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), during the ALA Midwinter Meeting & Exhibition held Feb. 9–13, in Denver.

Jacqueline Woodson wins 2018 Wilder Award

DENVER Jacqueline Woodson is the winner of the 2018 Laura Ingalls Wilder Award honoring an author or illustrator, published in the United States, whose books have made a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children. Her numerous works include “Brown Girl Dreaming” and “After Tupac & D Foster.”