Office for Intellectual Freedom

Freedom to Read Foundation Announces Intellectual Freedom Course and Scholarship Opportunities

The Freedom to Read Foundation (FTRF) is excited to partner with the San Jose State University School of Information (SJSU iSchool) and the University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign iSchool (iSchool at Illinois) on two Fall intellectual freedom courses.  In addition to encouraging students throughout the country to take the course, FTRF is offering one half-scholarship per course for current library and information science (LIS) students.

Libraries close the gap on unequal privacy during Choose Privacy Week 2019

CHICAGO – This year’s theme for Choose Privacy Week (May 1-7, 2019) — “Inclusive Privacy: Closing the Gap” — draws attention to the privacy inequities imposed on vulnerable and historically underrepresented populations and highlights how libraries can close the privacy gap for those who need it most.

Freedom to Read Foundation to Host Emerging Issues in Intellectual Freedom Webinar

Join the Freedom to Read Foundation (FTRF) for “Emerging Issues in Intellectual Freedom,” a free webinar on Thursday, May 2, 2019 at 11 a.m. PST/1 p.m. CST/2 p.m. EST.

Twice a year, FTRF trustees and liaisons meet to discuss emerging intellectual freedom topics in our libraries, schools and government offices. Often these topics overlap with issues of privacy, censorship and the First Amendment.

Join members of the FTRF Developing Issues Committee Barbara Stripling and Ray James for an overview of newsworthy intellectual freedom topics, including:

Colson Whitehead to Keynote Freedom to Read Foundation’s 50th Anniversary Celebration

Colson Whitehead, the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Underground Railroad, will be the keynote speaker for the Freedom to Read Foundation’s 50th anniversary celebration in Washington, D.C. on June 22, 2019. Tickets for this commemorative celebration are now available.

Humble Bundle and No Starch Press Launch Charity Promotion to Benefit the Freedom to Read Foundation

No Starch Press, an independent tech publishing company, has partnered with Humble Bundle to launch a Coder’s Bookshelf promotion to benefit the Freedom to Read Foundation. The bookshelf features the ebooks “The Rust Programming Language,” “The Principles of Object-Oriented JavaScript,” “Python Playground,” and more. The Humble Bundle: Coder’s Bookshelf will be available for purchase until April 8, 2019.

Jim Duncan Receives Immroth Award

The American Library Association’s Intellectual Freedom Round Table (IFRT) Immroth Award Committee is pleased to announce Jim Duncan as the recipient of the 2019 John Phillip Immroth Memorial Award, which honors significant contributions defending intellectual freedom.

[Call for Nominations] 2019 Gordon M. Conable Conference Scholarship

Are you interested in Intellectual Freedom? Would you like to attend the American Library Association’s (ALA) Annual Conference in June and learn how the Freedom to Read Foundation (FTRF) and other groups in ALA are working to protect access to information? Applications are now open for the 2019 Gordon M. Conable Conference Scholarship, sponsored by FTRF. The Scholarship provides funding for an LIS student or recent graduate to attend the ALA’s Annual Conference June 20-25 in Washington, D.C.

Freedom to Read Foundation Offers 2019 Banned Books Week Grants

Applications are now being accepted for the Freedom to Read Foundation (FTRF) Banned Books Weeks Grants offered through the Judith F. Krug Memorial Fund.

[Call for Nominations] 2019 Freedom to Read Foundation Roll of Honor

The Freedom to Read Foundation seeks nominations for the 2019 Freedom to Read Foundation Roll of Honor. This award was established in 1987 to recognize and honor individuals who have contributed substantially to the FTRF through adherence to its principles and/or substantial monetary support. The award will be presented at the Opening Ceremony of the 2019 ALA Annual Conference in Washington, D.C. More information on how to nominate as well as a list of past Roll of Honor recipients can be found at