Herbert Krug wins 2014 Freedom to Read Foundation Roll of Honor Award

For Immediate Release
Tue, 05/27/2014


Jonathan Kelley

Program Officer

Freedom to Read Foundation

Freedom to Read Foundation



CHICAGO Freedom to Read Foundation trustee Herbert Krug is the recipient of the 2014 Freedom to Read Foundation (FTRF) Roll of Honor Award.

Krug is a founding member of the Freedom to Read Foundation and has served as trustee for three years, including two terms as treasurer.  Prior to that, Krug provided volunteer service to FTRF since its inception in 1969, using his expertise developed over a legendary career in direct marketing to contribute immeasurably to FTRF’s successful fundraising and membership development efforts.  He is personally among the most generous donors in FTRF’s history.

In 2009, Krug was a key member of FTRF’s 40th Anniversary Gala committee, which raised tens of thousands of dollars for the Foundation; he currently is helping to coordinate FTRF’s 45th anniversary celebrations this year.  Krug also spearheaded the creation of FTRF’s Judith F. Krug Memorial Fund, created in honor of his late wife, FTRF’s founding executive director, after her 2009 death.  Among his efforts for the Krug Fund has been coordinating the annual selection of grants for Banned Books Week Read-Outs and other events, continuing Judith’s substantial legacy in honor of the freedom to read.

“Herb’s service to the Freedom to Read Foundation has been remarkable,” said Judith Platt, chair of the Roll of Honor Committee. “His commitment to the Foundation’s mission and his diligence and generosity in supporting that mission have contributed substantially to FTRF’s success.  So much of Herb’s work has been done quietly and without fanfare that we’re delighted to now turn the spotlight on him and to honor him with this award.”  The Roll of Honor Award will be presented from 4 - 5:15 p.m. on Friday, June 27, during the Opening General Session of the 2014 ALA Annual Conference in Las Vegas. 

The Roll of Honor was established in 1987 to recognize and honor those individuals who have contributed substantially to FTRF through adherence to its principles and/or substantial monetary support.