National School Library Program of the Year Award

Sponsored by Follett

Monetary Amount: $10,000


Deadline: January 1, 2019


Established in 1963, the National School Library Program of the Year (NSLPY) Award honors school library programs practicing their commitment to ensure that students and staff are effective users of ideas and information, as well as exemplifying implementation of AASL's learning standards and program guidelines. The award recognizes exemplary school library programs that are fully integrated into the school's curriculum.


The NSLPY Award, guided by AASL's Empowering Learners: Guidelines for School Library Programs, recognizes school library programs that meet the needs of the changing school and library environment. Exemplary school library programs ensure that the students and staff are effective users of ideas and information. These programs empower learners to be critical thinkers, enthusiastic readers, skillful researchers and ethical users of information.

The following criteria will be used in the selection process:

  • The school librarian must be a personal member of AASL.

  • All of the foundational elements listed in the application must be met.

It is strongly recommended that the school/school district download and review the application and rubric for this award.


Shannon Carter email icon
AASL Program Coordinator

Past Recipients

Year    Awardee(s)

2018    Robert E. Lee High School, Springfield, Va.

2017    Baltimore County Public Schools, Md.

2016    Veterans Memorial Elementary School, Naples, Fla

2015    Blue Valley High School, Stilwell, Kansas

2014    Eaglecrest High School, Centennial, Colo.

2013    New Augusta South Elementary School, Ind.
2013    Pennsylvania Avenue School, N.J.
2013    Swan Valley High School, Mich.

2012    Hinsdale Township High School District 86
2012    South Texas Independent School District

2011    Pine Grove Middle School, N.Y.
2011    Henrico County Public Schools, Va.
2011    North East Independent School District, Texas

2010    Perry Meridian Middle School, Ind.
2010    New Canaan High School, Conn.

2009    Livonia Central School District, N.Y.
2009    Robert E. Clow Elementary School, Ill.
2009    Blue Valley North High School, Kan.

2008    Luella Elementary School, Ga.
2008    Simsbury High School, Conn.

2007    Norman Public Schools, Okla.
2007    Harpeth Hall, Tenn.
2007    North Elementary School, Ind.

2006    Hilliard City School District, Ohio
2006    Biblioteca Las Americas, Texas
2006    Kapolei High School, Hawaii

2005    William Floyd School District, N.Y.
2005    Downers Grove South High School, Ill.
2005    Henry Brader Elementary School, Del.

2004    Northside Independent School District, Texas
2004    Boston Arts Academy/Fenway High School, Mass.
2004    Lois Lenski Elementary School, Colo.

2003    Millard Public School District, Neb.
2003    Liberty Public School District, Mo.
2003    Cherry Creek High School, Colo.

2002   James River High School, Va.

2001    DeKalb County School Sysytem, Ga.
2001   Corbett Elementary School, Ariz.

2000    Irving Independent School District, Texas
2000    Londonderry School District #12, N.H.
2000    New Trier Township H.S., Ill.

1999    Lincoln Public Schools, Neb.

1998    Hunterdon Central Regional High School, N.J.

1997    Gwinnett County Public Schools, Ga
1997    Iowa City Community School District, Iowa
1997    Timothy Dwight Elementary School, Conn.

1996    Maine Township High School West, Ill.

1995    Southern Bluffs Elementary School, Wis.
1995    Smoky Hill H.S, Colo.

Year    Awardee(s)

1994    Duneland School Corporation, Ind.
1994    Providence Senior High School, N.C.
1994    Lakeview Elementary School, Wis.

1993    Blue Valley School District USD 229, Kan.

1993    Indian Prairie School District 204, Ill.

1992    Fulton County School System, Ga.
1992    Manhattan/Ogden Unified School District 383, Kan.

1991    Irving Independent School District, Texas
1991    Beecher Road School, Conn.

1990    Greenboro Public Schools, N.C.
1990    Cherry Creek High School, Colo.

1989    Norman Public Schools, Okla.
1989    Middletown Enlarged City School District, N.Y.
1989    David A. Hickman High School, Mo.

1988    West Bloomfield Schools, Mich.
1988    Round Rock Independent School District, Texas

1987    Independent School District 47, Minn.
1987    Community Consolidated School District 62, Ill.
1987    Monterey Peninsula Unified School District, Calif. 

1986    District 108,  Ill.

1985    Shoreham-Wading River School District, N.Y.

1984    Riverside-Brookfield Township High School, Ill.
1984    Richmond School System, Va.

1983    no award given

1982    Shaker Heights City School District, Ohio

1981    Blue Valley School District, Kan.

1980    Irvine Unified School District, Calif.

1979    Greenwich Public Schools, Conn.

1978    Cobb County Public Schools,Ga.

1977    Los Alamitos School District, Calif.

1976    Littleton Public Schools, Colo.

1975    Rochester City Schools, N.Y.

1974    Cedar Rapids Community Schools, Iowa

1973    Duneland Community Schools, Ind.

1972    Atlanta Public Schools, Ga.

1971    Leflore County Schools, Miss.

1970    Alhambra School Distract, Ariz.

1969    Iowa City Community Schools, Iowa

1968    San Ramon Valley School District, Calif.

1967    Cleveland Public Schools, Ohio

1966    Albuquerque Public Schools, N.M.

1965    Dade County Public Schools, Fla.

1964    Durham County Schools, N.C.

1963    Anne Arundel County Schools, Md.