Frances Henne Award

Sponsored by Libraries Unlimited

Monetary Amount: $1,250

Deadline: February 1


The AASL Frances Henne Award recognizes a school librarian with five years or less experience who demonstrates leadership qualities with learners, educators, and administrators. The award provides a stipend for the recipient's first-time attendance at an AASL National Conference or ALA Annual Conference.


  1. The applicant shall be a current AASL personal member.
  2. The applicant shall be currently employed as a school librarian at the building-level and have from 1-5 years experience as a school librarian. School library experience should not exceed 5 years.
  3. The applicant shall have no previous attendance at an ALA Annual Conference or an AASL National Conference.


All applications for the grant will be judged against the following criteria:

  1. Quality of purpose statement.
  2. Content of professional statement.
  3. Professional statement style.
  4. Potential for future leadership.

Download Criteria & Rating Sheets pdf icon

Download Copy of Application 

* Please note: This downloadable version is for informational purposes only. All applications must be submitted online, via the Apply Now button that will appear at the top of the page when the next award season opens in early September.


Allison Cline email icon
Deputy Executive Director


2020    Andrea Trudeau

"Andrea Trudeau is a no-"shh" librarian at Alan B. Shepard Middle School in Deerfield, Illinois, who, upon taking this new role, transformed the school library into an active learning commons, embracing creativity, collaboration, innovation, and fun. Andrea values connecting with others and is grateful this award provides her the opportunity to attend her first AASL Conference to learn from and with other dedicated school librarians who are redefining librarianship for the 21st century."

Year    Recipient

2019    Holly Schwarzmann

2018    Deb Sondall Saetveit

2017    Julie Stivers

2016    Kate Lechtenberg

2015    Diana Rendina

2014    Carolyn Stenzel

2013    Amy Jo Southworth

2012    Alisa Auchmoedy-Finck

2011    Shannon Hyman

2010    Melanie Gibson

2009    Jill Mantel

2008    Sarah Prielipp

2007    Jessica Klinker

2006    Gladys Fox

2005    John McDonald

2004    Cynthia Welsh

2003    Teresa Diaz

Year    Recipient

2002    Laura Stiles

2001    Katherine Grant Cadden

2000    Carl A. Harvey II

1999    Marsha Trentham Hunter

1998    Kimberly A. Grimes

1997    Roxanna K. Morse

1996    Jane Baldwin

1995    Suzanne Shearman

1994    Robert Craig Bunch

1993    Susan Elizabeth Bucko

1992    Barbara A. Jansen

1991    David Wayne Calendar

1990    Joan Enders

1989    Kathleen Rooney Sornsin

1988    Jane Louise Thomas

1987    Nancy Quesada Moreno

1986    Kathryn Smrekar