Collaborative School Library Award

Sponsored by Upstart

Monetary amount: $2,500

Deadline: February 1, 2017


The Collaborative School Library Award recognizes and encourages collaboration and partnerships between school librarians and teachers in meeting goals outlined in Empowering Learners: Guidelines for School Library Programs through joint planning of a program, unit or event in support of the curriculum and using school library resources.


The applicants will be a school librarian and teacher(s) who have worked together to execute a project, event, or program to further information literacy, independent learning, and social responsibility using resources of the school library. The application will address the degree to which the project meets the standards outlined in Empowering Learners: Guidelines for School Library Programs.

The following criteria will be used in the selection process:

  • The school librarian must be a personal member of AASL.
  • The project will be judged on:
    • The degree of joint effort, over a significant period of time, between the school librarian and classroom teacher(s);
    • Use of school library resources;
    • Degree in meeting the goals and standards outlined in Empowering Learners: Guidelines for School Library Programs.

The project submitted should reflect a best practice that can serve as a model for others in collaborative planning. It is recommended that a portion of the cash award be used to provide opportunities for the recipients to share their project at a state association conference.

View the award rating sheet. pdf icon

Questions? Contact Shannon Carter, 800-545-2433 x 4381

Past Recipients

Year Recipient(s) School
2017 Mary Catherine Coleman, Sarah Beebe, Sarah Weitz, Bev Greenberg, and Tisha Johnson Francis W. Parker School, Chicago, Ill
2016 Deborah Floyd, Stephanie Stargardt, and Joshua Forbes G. W. Carver Middle School, Chester, Va.
2015 Stephanie Meurer, Jennifer Milstead, and Erin Kelley Sierra Middle School, Parker, Co.
2014 Brenda Boyer, Alison Kocis-Westgate and Josh Chambers Kutztown (Pa.) Area High School
2013 Jean Hellwege, Kim Ridder, Debbie Beran, and Eric Nelson Scott Middle School
Lincoln, Neb.


Sara Oremland, Darren McNally, Corinne Berletti, and Jessica Park

Albany (Calif.) High School

2011   Lucy Kempton, Laurie Williams, & Marisa Fiorito Deerfield (Ill.) High School
2010 Marilyn Rothberg General Wayne Elementary,
Malvern, Penn.
2009 Maureen O'Neill & Dennis Jutras Baltimore Polytechnic Institute, Baltimore, Md.
2008 Ronda Hassig & Kathy Hill Harmony Middle School,
Overland Park, Kan.
2007 Renee Zorc Daniel J. Wright Junior High School, Lincolnshire, Ill.
2006 Melissa Bergin Niskayuna (N.Y.) High School
2005 Valerie Edwards Monona (Wis.) Grove High School
2004 Margaret Lincoln Lakeview High School,
Battle Creek, Mich.
2003 Leslie Preddy Perry Meridian Middle School
Indianapolis, Ind.
2002 Anieta Trame Mattoon (Ill.) Middle School
2001 Marilyn Rothberg Sugartown Elementary School,
Malvern, Penn.
2000 Deborah Svenson Forestwood Middle School,
Flower Mound, Texas