Intellectual Freedom Award

Sponsored by ProQuest

Monetary amount: $2,000 to the recipient and $1,000 to the school library program of the recipient's choice

Deadline: February 1, 2017


The Intellectual Freedom Award is given for upholding the principles of intellectual freedom as set forth by the American Association of School Librarians and the American Library Association.


The following criteria will be used in the selection process:

  1. The recipient shall be a personal member of AASL.
  2. The recipient shall meet at least one of the following criteria:
    1. Has developed and implemented an exemplary selection policy/challenge procedure
    2. Has developed an innovative information program on intellectual freedom.
    3. Has upheld intellectual freedom principles in the face of a challenge.
    4. Has contributed to the literature of the field (print or non-print).
    5. Has been active in the establishment and/or continuation of a coalition relating to intellectual freedom at a local, state or national level.
  3. The recipient has not received another ProQuest, Inc. sponsored Intellectual Freedom Award in the same year.
  4. At least one supporting letter of reference must accompany the application form.  The reference must substantiate that the applicant has upheld the principles of intellectual freedom, and has met at least one of the criteria listed above. The letter must be submitted by one of the following:
    1. District library supervisors.
    2. State, county or district school superintendents or building principals.
    3. State, district and local library organizations.
    4. Directors of curriculum and instruction.
    5. Directors of elementary and/or secondary education.
    6. State school library supervisors.
    7. Local school board members.

Nominations will be accepted by organizations or individuals. Self-nominations will not be considered.

View the award rating sheet. pdf icon

Questions? Contact Shannon Carter, 800-545-2433 x 4381

Past Recipients

Year Recipient
2017 Amy Bradley
Risley Middle School, Brunswick, Ga.
2016 no award given
2015 no award given
2014 Cathy Collins
Sharon (Mass.) High School
2013 Rosalind Dennis
DeKalb County (Ga.) School District  
2012 no award given
2011  Dee Venuto
Rancocas Valley Regional High School
Mount Holly, N.J.
2010 Karyn Storts-Brinks
Knox County (Tenn.) School District
2009 no award given
2008 Kristie Michalowski
Magill Elementary School
Loganville, Ga.
2007 no award given
2006 Catherine Crain
Thompson Intermediate School
Houston, Texas
2005 Ann Ewbank
Cholla Middle School
Phoenix, Ariz.
2004 no award given
2003 no award given
2002 no award given
2001 Dianne Mc Afee Hopkins
University of Wisconsin-Madison
2000 Linda G. Cornette
Dublin (Ohio) City Schools
1999 no award given
1998 no award given
1997 Ginny Moore Kruse
Cooperative Children's Book Center
Madison, Wis.
1996 Ann K. Symons
Juneau-Douglas (Alaska) High School
1995 no award given
1994 Ruth E. Dishnow
Texas Woman's University
Denton, Texas
1993 no award given
1992 no award given
1991 Neva Thompson
Humboldt Unified District
Dewey, Ariz.
1990 Linda L. Waddle
Cedar Hills (Iowa) High School
1989 William A. Murray
Jr-Aurora Public Schools
Aurora, Colo.
1988 Nancy Morena
Kocurek Elementary School
Austin, Texas
1987 Gayle Keresey
East Arcadia School
Riegelwood, N.C.
1986 Carolyn Kellerman
Santa Fe High School
Santa Fe, N.M.
1985 no award given
1984 Vicki H. Hardesty
Findlay High School
Santa Fe, N.M.
1983 Pat Scales
Greenville Middle School
Greenville, S.C.
1982 Frances Dean
Plains (Texas) High School