Contact Us

Who to Contact

The Public Library Association (PLA) is a division of the American Library Association (ALA), located at 50 E. Huron, Chicago, IL 60611. Office hours are 8:30 AM–4:30 PM Central, Monday–Friday. ALA’s toll free number is 1-800-545-2433, staff extensions are listed below. PLA’s general line is extension 5PLA (5752), fax number is 312-280-5029, and general e-mail is pla@ala.org. Feel free to contact the office any time you have questions. If no one is available when you call, please leave a message. All staff have voice mail and will respond as quickly as possible.


PLA Staff

Scott Allen - photo by Erin Drewitz PhotographyScott Allen
Deputy Director
ext. 5858
sallen@ala.org

Responsible for grant and proposal development and management of a range of activity including DigitalLearn.org, family engagement, and the Legacy grant, funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

Larra ClarkLarra Clark
Deputy Director
ext. 5861
lclark@ala.org

Responsible for working with the PLA staff, board, and external organizations to leverage and support research and outcome measurement, digital literacy, and partnerships.

Laurence DeutschLaurence Deutsch
Manager, Communications
ext. 5864
ldeutsch@ala.org

Responsible for PLA communications activities, including the development and implementation of a comprehensive communications strategy, as well as the coordination of PLA’s outreach to key external audiences.

Brendan Dowling - no photo availableBrendan Dowling
Assistant Editor
ext. 5023
bdowling@ala.org

Responsible for proofreading, copyediting, and otherwise preparing manuscripts for various publications. Conducts author interviews for "BookTalk" column on publiclibrariesonline.com, updates and maintains publiclibrariesonline.com.

Lian Drago - photo by Erin Drewitz PhotographyLian Drago
Program Officer, Continuing Education
ext. 5021
ldrago@ala.org

Responsible for meeting management for PLA Conference and ALA conferences. Supports the work of the Continuing Education Program Manager for programs such as PLA Leadership Academy, PLA Dynamic Planning Institute, and other educational offerings, supports PLA’s digital literacy initiative, DigitalLearn.org.


Melissa Faubel Johnson, CMP - no photo availableMelissa Faubel Johnson, CMP
Meeting and Special Events Planner
ext. 5022
mfaubel@ala.org

Responsible for management of exhibits, site review, hotel contracts, and major events and programs at PLA Conference, including opening and closing sessions, luncheons, as well as major events such as the PLA President’s Breakfast at the ALA Annual Conference.

Mary Hirsh - photo by Erin Drewitz PhotographyMary Hirsh
Deputy Director
ext. 5039
mhirsh@ala.org

Responsible for development, management, and coordination of grant-funded activities. Represents PLA in partner initiatives.

Steven Hofmann - photo by Erin Drewitz PhotographySteven Hofmann
Manager, Web Communications
ext. 5047
shofmann@ala.org

Responsible for management of PLA web and digital media initiatives and programs. Heads development of PLA web properties, and implementation of member communities and web-based education.


Kathleen Hughes - photo by Erin Drewitz PhotographyKathleen M. Hughes
Manager, Publications
ext. 4028
khughes@ala.org

Responsible for Public Libraries magazine and serves as its editor, manages PLA publications program and Public Library Data Service Statistical Report project, and coordinates the PLA webinars.


Samantha LopezSamantha Lopez
Project Coordinator
ext. 5857
slopez@ala.org

Responsible for coordination support of PLA’s performance measurement initiative, Project Outcome, funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

Barb Macikas - photo by Erin Drewitz PhotographyBarb Macikas
ext. 5028
bmacikas@ala.org

Responsible for directing activities of PLA. Coordinates policy implementation and strategic planning, prepares PLA budgets, serves as ex-officio member of PLA's Board of Directors, and serves as official contact for external organizations.


Angela MaycockAngela Maycock
Manager, Continuing Education
ext. 5024
amaycock@ala.org

Responsible for oversight of the development and implementation of PLA's educational programs at PLA Conference and ALA conferences, as well as regional educational programs including PLA Leadership Academy and PLA Dynamic Planning Institute; and for creation of online educational programs, distance learning programs, and other new educational offerings for PLA.

Charmin MembersCharmin Members
Leadership Initiatives Manager
ext. 5859
cmembers@ala.org

Responsible for the overall strategic design, development, implementation, and growth of PLA’s leadership development programming.

Kara O'Keefe - photo by Erin Drewitz PhotographyKara O'Keefe
Manager, Marketing and Membership
ext. 5027
kokeefe@ala.org

Responsible for all PLA marketing activities including the biennial PLA Conference. Directs all membership promotion and retention efforts, manages content and design of webpage and e-newsletter.


Emily PlagmanEmily Plagman
Project Manager
ext. 5854
eplagman@ala.org

Responsible for  PLA’s performance measurement initiative, Project Outcome, funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

No photo availableMegan Stewart
Program Coordinator
ext. 5026
mstewart@ala.org

Responsible for member contact and assistance, maintenance of committee rosters, coordination of appointment process, support for the work of the PLA Board of Directors, and coordination of PLA Awards program.


PLA staff photos as indicated by Erin Drewitz Photography