Contact Us

Mailing Address:
Public Library Association
225 N. Michigan Ave., Suite 1300
Chicago, IL 60601

Email: pla@ala.org
Staff email addresses are listed below.

Telephone Toll Free:
800-545-2433 ext. 5PLA (5752)
Staff extensions are the last four digits of their direct line listed below.

Fax:
312-280-5029


Who to Ask About…

Feel free to contact the office any time you have questions. Office hours are 8:30 AM–4:30 PM Central, Monday–Friday. If no one is available when you call, please leave a message. All staff have voice mail and will respond as quickly as possible.


PLA Staff Directory

Scott Allen - photo by Erin Drewitz PhotographyScott Allen
Deputy Director, Operations
312-280-5858
sallen@ala.org

Responsible for special projects including digital literacy, family engagement, health, and EDISJ, along with grant fundraising, PLA budget management, and other administrative duties.


Nellie Barrett - photo by Tori Soper PhotographyNellie Barrett
Program Officer
312-280-5023
nbarrett@ala.org

Responsible for supporting PLA continuing education programs and conferences.


Larra ClarkLarra Clark
Deputy Director, Policy
312-280-5861
lclark@ala.org

Responsible for working with the PLA staff, board, and external organizations to leverage and support research and outcome measurement, digital literacy, and partnerships.


Lian Drago - photo by Erin Drewitz PhotographyLian Drago
Meetings Manager
312-280-5021
ldrago@ala.org

Responsible for meeting management for PLA Conference and ALA conferences. Supports the work of the Continuing Education Manager for programs such as PLA Leadership Academy, PLA Dynamic Planning Institute, and other educational offerings.


Mary Hirsh - photo by Erin Drewitz PhotographyMary Hirsh
Deputy Director, Programs
312-280-5039
mhirsh@ala.org

Responsible for development, management, and coordination of grant-funded activities. Represents PLA in partner initiatives.


Steven Hofmann - photo by Erin Drewitz PhotographySteven Hofmann
Manager, Web Communications
312-280-5047
shofmann@ala.org

Responsible for management of PLA web and digital media initiatives and programs. Heads development of PLA web properties and implementation of web-based education.


Kathleen Hughes - photo by Erin Drewitz PhotographyKathleen M. Hughes
Manager, Publications
312-280-4028
khughes@ala.org

Responsible for Public Libraries magazine and serves as its editor, and manages PLA publications program and Public Library Data Service Statistical Report project.


Samantha Lopez - photo by Liz Farina Markel/Tipping Point PhotographySamantha Lopez
Manager, Marketing and Membership
312-280-5857
slopez@ala.org

Responsible for all PLA marketing activities, including initiatives, continuing education opportunities, and the biennial PLA Conference. Manages all membership promotion, retention, and engagement efforts.


Barb Macikas - photo by Liz Farina Markel/Tipping Point PhotographyBarb Macikas
Executive Director
312-280-5028
bmacikas@ala.org

Responsible for directing activities of PLA. Coordinates policy implementation and strategic planning, prepares PLA budgets, serves as ex-officio member of PLA's Board of Directors, and serves as official contact for external organizations.


Angela MaycockAngela Maycock
Manager, Continuing Education
312-280-5024
amaycock@ala.org

Responsible for oversight of the development and implementation of PLA's educational programs at PLA Conference and ALA conferences, as well as regional educational programs including PLA Leadership Academy and PLA Dynamic Planning Institute; and for creation of online educational programs, distance learning programs, and other new educational offerings for PLA.


Emily Plagman - photo by Liz Farina Markel/Tipping Point PhotographyEmily Plagman
Manager, Impact and Advocacy
312-280-5854
eplagman@ala.org

Responsible for  PLA’s performance measurement initiative, Project Outcome, funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, the Public Library Data Service, Impact Survey, and evaluation of other PLA projects.


No photo availableMegan Stewart
Program Coordinator
312-280-5026
mstewart@ala.org

Responsible for member contact and assistance, maintenance of committee rosters, coordination of appointment process, support for the work of the PLA Board of Directors, and coordination of PLA Awards program.


Symone VillasenorSymone Villasenor
Project Manager
312-280-5018
svillasenor@ala.org

Responsible for managing and supporting special projects and grant-funded initiatives, including family engagement.


Leighann WoodLeighann Wood
Program Manager
312-280-5867
lwood@ala.org

Responsible for managing and supporting special projects and grant funded initiatives including DigitalLearn.org, EDISJ, health, fundraising, and the Legacy grant, funded by the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation.


KGJ Consulting, LLC - Melissa Faubel Johnson, CMP - no photo availableKGJ Consulting, LLC
Melissa Faubel Johnson, CMP
Meeting and Special Events Planner
312-280-5022
mfaubel@ala.org

Responsible for management of exhibits, site review, hotel contracts, and major events and programs at PLA Conference, including opening and closing sessions, luncheons, as well as major events such as the PLA President’s Breakfast at the ALA Annual Conference.