PLA Board of Directors

The PLA Board of Directors consists of the President, the President-Elect, the Past-President, the ALA Division Councilor, the Fiscal Officer, six Directors-at-Large, and the PLA Executive Director. If you wish to contact the members of the PLA Board, then send a message to and PLA staff will forward as appropriate.



Ramiro S. SalazarRamiro S. Salazar
San Antonio Public Library
San Antonio, TX

Meet Ramiro…


Michelle JeskeMichelle Jeske
City Librarian
Denver, CO

Meet Michelle…


Monique le Conge ZiesenhenneMonique le Conge Ziesenhenne, PhD
Palo Alto City Library
Palo Alto, CA

Meet Monique…

ALA Division Councilor

Stephanie ChaseStephanie Chase (2017–2020)
Hillsboro Public Library
Hillsboro, OR

Meet Stephanie…

Fiscal Officer

Clara Nalli BohrerClara Nalli Bohrer (2019–2022)
West Bloomfield Township Public Library
West Bloomfield, MI

Meet Clara…

PLA Executive Director (Ex-Officio)

Barbara Macikas - photo by Erin Drewitz PhotographyBarbara Macikas
PLA Executive Director
American Library Association
Chicago, IL

Meet Barb…


Cindy FesemyerCindy Fesemyer (2018–2021)
Adult and Community Services Consultant
Public Library Development, Wisconsin Dept. of Public Instruction
Madison, WI

Meet Cindy…

Toby GreenwaltToby Greenwalt (2019–2022)
Director of Digital Strategy
Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, PA


Amita LonialAmita Lonial (2019–2022)
Assistant Library Director
Tacoma Public Library
Tacoma, WA

Meet Amita…

Pam Sandlian SmithPam Sandlian Smith (2019–2020)*
Anythink Libraries
Adams County, CO

Meet Pam…

Kelvin WatsonKelvin Watson (2018–2021)
Broward County Libraries Division
Fort Lauderdale, FL

Meet Kelvin…

Carrie WillsonCarrie Willson (2017–2020)
Calvert Library
Calvert, MD

Meet Carrie…

*Appointed to fill the unexpired term of Director-at-Large Michelle Jeske, who was elected to the position of President-Elect.