PLA Board of Directors

The PLA Board of Directors consists of the President, the President-Elect, the Past-President, the ALA Division Councilor, six Directors-at-Large, and the PLA Executive Director.


Vailey OehlkeVailey Oehlke
Director of Libraries
Multnomah County Library
Portland, Ore.

Meet Vailey…


Felton Thomas, Jr.Felton Thomas, Jr.
Cleveland Public Library
Cleveland, Ohio

Meet Felton…


Larry NealLarry Neal
Library Director
Clinton-Macomb Public Library
Clinton Township, Mich.

Meet Larry…

ALA Division Councilor

Rivkah SassRivkah Sass (2014–2017)
Sacramento Public Library
Sacramento, Calif.

Meet Rivkah…

PLA Executive Director (Ex-Officio)

Barbara Macikas - photo by Erin Drewitz PhotographyBarbara Macikas
PLA Executive Director
American Library Association
Chicago, Ill.

Meet Barb…


Carolyn AnthonyCarolyn Anthony (2015–2016)
Skokie Public Library
Skokie, Ill.

Meet Carolyn…

Dr. Rhea Brown LawsonDr. Rhea Brown Lawson (2015–2018)
Executive Director
Houston Public Library
Houston, Tex.

Meet Rhea…

Melanie HugginsMelanie Huggins (2014–2017)
Richland Library
Columbia, S.C.

Meet Melanie…

Gina MillsapGina Millsap (2015–2018)
Chief Executive Officer
Topeka & Shawnee County Public Library
Topeka, Kans.

Meet Gina…

Manya ShorrManya Shorr (2014–2017)
Director of Public Services
District of Columbia Public Library
District Of Columbia, D.C.

Meet Manya…

Jay TurnerJay Turner (2013–2016)
Senior Consultant, Talent and Organization Development
American Red Cross
Washington, D.C.

Meet Jay…