Spectrum Scholars & Emerging Leaders

Each year, with support from Friends of YALSA donations, YALSA sponsors a Spectrum Scholar and an ALA Emerging Leader.  Current and past Scholars and Emerging Leaders are listed below. 

Support YALSA's Next Spectrum Scholar!  For 2015 YALSA has joined a call to action and celebrated a day dedicated to giving -- when charities, families, businesses, community centers, students, retailers and more all come together on Dec. 1, 2015 for Giving Tuesday – a movement that celebrated giving and encouraged more, better and smarter giving during the holiday season.  So far in 2015 YALSA has raised $2,561 towards a goal of $6,500 needed to provide a Spectrum Scholarship to a member from a diverse background to support their attainment of a Master's Degree in Library & Information Science.  For the year's end, our goal is to raise the remaining $3,939 needed to fund the scholarship. Please consider making a donation by Dec. 31, 2015!

Spectrum Scholars

Alice Son, 2016
Claudio Leon, 2015
Victoria Thomas, 2014
Ivelisse Maldonado, 2013
Hannah Gomez, 2012
Hoan-Vu Do, 2011
Cristina Mitra, 2010
Jamie Young, 2009


Emerging Leaders

Kayla Marie Figard, 2016
Johana Orellana, 2015
Dolly Goyal, 2014
Annie Schutte, 2013 
Lori Easterwood, 2012
Monique Delatte, 2011
Samantha Marker, 2011
Amy Barr, 2010
Anna Koval, 2010
Carla Land, 2009
Katherine Voss, 2009
Jenine Lillian, 2007
Ellsworth Rockefeller, 2007


To learn about these and other grant, award, stipend and scholarship opportunities open to YALSA members, visit our web site.  Listen to an interview with Linda Braun, YALSA Past President, and Hoan-Vu Do, YALSA's 2010-2011 Spectrum Scholar at YouTube.