RUSA CODES Notable Books Council


CHARGE: To compile an annual list of Notable Books for use by the general reader and librarians who work with adult readers. The purpose of the list is to call attention to books published during the year which are significant additions to the world of books.

COMMITTEE TERMS: All CODES book and media award committees have one-year terms, renewable one year at a time for up to four consecutive years. The working  year for book and media award committees is February through January (e.g., February 2011 - January 2012). Term dates below indicate the date of the first year appointment and the end date of the last eligible year.


Nanci Milone Hill (Member, February 1, 2016, to January 31, 2017)
Andrea Hill (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2020)

Displaying active committee roster as of 02/08/2016. Last retrieved on 02/08/2016. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


See RUSA or Section Bylaws.


See Committee Charge.

Get Involved

ALA values committed and active committee members. Qualified members are welcome to volunteer to serve on [insert committee name here]. Committee members must have an interest in the work of the committee; be able to attend Annual Conferences and Midwinter Meetings to participate in the meetings and activities of the committee; and be able to work between conferences via e-mail and ALA Connect. Express your interest in serving on this or other committees by filling out an application form. Appointments take place once a year, during the spring. Committee service usually begins following Annual Conference, about July 1.

Staff Liaison

Leighann Wood
Membership and Awards Program Specialist