Previous Winners

Back to Nonfiction Award homepage


Winner: Bomb: The Race to Build - and Steal- the World's Most Dangerous Weapon, written by Steve Sheinkin

Finalists: Steve Jobs: The Man Who Thought Different, a biography by Karen Blumenthal; Moonbird: A Year on the Wind with the Great Survivor B95, written by Phillip Hoose; Titanic: Voices from the Disaster, written by Deborah Hopkinson; and We've Got a Job: The 1963 Birmingham Children's March, written by Cynthia Levinson.

Learn more about the 2013 award.


Winner: The Notorious Benedict Arnold: A True Story of Adventure, Heroism, & Treachery by Steve Sheinkin

Finalists: Sugar Changed the World: A Story of Magic, Spice, Slavery, Freedom and Science by Marc Aronson and Marina Budhos; Bootleg: Murder, Moonshine, and the Lawless Years of Prohibition written by Karen Blumenthal; Wheels of Change: How Women Rode the Bicycle to Freedom (With a Few Flat Tires Along the Way) by Sue Macy; and Music Was IT: Young Leonard Bernstein written by Susan Goldman Rubin.

Learn more about the 2012 award.


Winner: Janis Joplin: Rise Up Singing by Ann Angel

Finalists: They Called Themselves the KKK: The Birth of an American Terrorist Group by Susan Campbell Bartoletti; Spies of Mississippi:  The True Story of the Spy Network that Tried to Destroy the Civil Rights Movement by Rick Bowers; The Dark Game: True Spy Stories  by Paul Janeczko; and Every Bone Tells a Story: Hominin Discoveries, Deductions, and Debates by Jill Rubalcaba and Peter Robertshaw, published by Charlesbridge

Learn more about the 2011 award.


Winner: Charles and Emma: The Darwins' Leap of Faith by Deborah Heiligman.

Finalists: Almost Astronauts: 13 Women Who Dared to Dream by Tanya Lee Stone, Claudette Colvin: Twice toward Justice by Phillip Hoose, The Great and Only Barnum: The Tremendous, Stupendous Life of Showman P.T. Barnum by Candace Fleming, and Written in Bone: Buried Lives of Jamestown and Colonial Maryland by Sally M. Walker.

Learn more about the 2010 award.