State Friends Groups

NEW - State Friends Group Electronic Discussion List

Those who work with, are members of, and/or serve as board members of state Friends groups are invited to participate in the United for Libraries electronic discussion group focused on topics of interest to statewide Friends groups. To get started, please see the sign up information.

State Friends Groups Contact Information

Updates to any of the information listed below can be requested by sending an email to united@ala.org.

Alabama                                           
No state Friends group.

Alaska
No state Friends group.

Arizona
No state Friends group.

Arkansas
No state Friends group.

California
California Public Library Advocates

President: Robin Hoklotubbe robinhoklotubbe@aol.com
Newsletter

Colorado
No state Friends group.
Colorado Association of Libraries Trustees and Friends Division

Chair: Jennifer Kutzik jennifer.kutzik@colostate.edu

Connecticut
Friends of Connecticut Libraries

President: Paul McIlvaine us796@aol.com
State library liaison: Dawn La Valle dawn.lavalle@ct.gov
Facebook
Newsletter

Delaware
Friends of Delaware Libraries

President: Kay Bowes kaybowes@gmail.com

District of Columbia
Federation of Friends of the DC Public Library

Contact: Richard Huffine richardhuffine@yahoo.com  

Florida
No state Friends group.
Florida Library Association: Friends, Foundations and Boards
Chair: Deborah Hohler deborahhohler@att.net
State library contact: Sandy Newell snewell@dos.myflorida.com

Georgia
Friends of Georgia Libraries

President: Kathy Ash notsofastlane56@gmail.com
Facebook 
Newsletter

Hawaii
Friends of the Library of Hawai'i

President: Marlene Booth info@friendsofthelibraryofhawaii.org
Facebook
Newsletter

Idaho
No state Friends group.
Idaho Library Association Trustees and Friends Division

Chair: Carolyne Pietz cpietz10@msn.com

Illinois
No state Friends group.

Indiana
Friends of Indiana Libraries
  
Contact: Susan Akers sakers@ilfonline.org

Iowa
No state Friends group.

Kansas
Friends of Kansas Libraries (FoKL)

President: Carolyn Little little.carolyn67@gmail.com
Facebook
Newsletter

Kentucky
Friends of Kentucky Libraries, Inc.
President: Mary Lynn Collins marylynn41@hotmail.com
Facebook
Newsletter

Louisiana
No state Friends group.

Maine
Friends of Maine Libraries
President: Laurel Parker ltparker@windhammaine.us
Facebook

Maryland
Citizens for Maryland Libraries

President: Linda Lupro lmlibn@yahoo.com
Executive Director: Diane Barlow dianebarlow85@yahoo.com
Newsletter

Massachusetts
Massachusetts Friends of Libraries

President: Alice Welch alicewelch@verizon.net
Facebook
Newsletter

Michigan
Friends of Michigan Libraries

President: Paul Snyder paul.snyder@foml.org
Administration office: Charles Hanson chanson@kettering.edu
Facebook
Newsletter

Minnesota
Minnesota Association of Library Friends

President: Mary Ann Bernat info@mnlibraryfriends.org
Facebook

Mississippi
Friends of Mississippi Libraries

State library liaison: Lacy Ellinwood lellinwood@mlc.lib.ms.us

Missouri
No state Friends group.

Montana
No state Friends group.

Nebraska
No state Friends group.

Nevada
No state Friends group.

New Hampshire
No state Friends group.
Information for New Hampshire Friends of the Library

New Jersey
No state Friends group.

New Mexico
No state Friends group
New Mexico Library Foundation

Contact: Carol Hoover foundation@nm-lf.org   

New York
New York Library Association: Friends of Libraries Section

President: Lisa C. Wemett lisawemett@frontiernet.net
Newsletter

North Carolina
Friends of North Carolina Public Libraries

President: Karen Moll kandr@skybest.com
Facebook

North Dakota
No state Friends group.

Ohio
No state Friends group.
Ohio Library Council Friends

Contact: Doug Evans devans@olc.org

Oklahoma
Friends of Libraries in Oklahoma

President: Judy Neale judyn@cameron.edu
Facebook
Newsletter

Oregon
No state Friends group.

Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania Citizens for Better Libraries

President: Sue Solarczyk solarczyk@atlanticbb.net

Rhode Island
Rhode Island Coalition of Library Advocates

Chair: Gale Eaton gale.eaton@verizon.net
Facebook

South Carolina
Friends of South Carolina Libraries

President: John Bradley fosclnews@yahoo.com

South Dakota
No state Friends group.
State library contacts: Daria Bossman Daria.Bossman@state.sd.us, Lesta Turchen  lestaturchen@hughes.net

Tennessee
Friends of Tennessee Libraries
President: Don Reynolds don.reynolds2030@gmail.com
Facebook
Newsletter

Texas
Friends of Libraries and Archives of Texas

President: Lori Brix friends@tsl.state.tx.us

Utah
No state Friends group.
State library contact: Juan Lee jtlee@utah.gov

Vermont
No state Friends group.
State library contact: Amy Howlett amy.howlett@state.vt.us

Virginia
No state Friends group.

Washington
No state Friends group
Washington Library Association Library Friends, Foundations, and Trustees Association

Chair: Will Stuivenga will.stuivenga@sos.wa.gov
Newsletter

West Virginia
No state Friends group.
West Virginia Library Association Friends dvision chair:Joan Armbruster jgarmbruster@frontiernet.net

Wisconsin
Wisconsin Library Trustees & Friends

President: Kathy Pletcher klpletcher@gmail.com

Wyoming
No state Friends group.