State Friends Groups

State Friends Group Electronic Discussion List

Those who work with, are members of, and/or serve as board members of state Friends groups are invited to participate in the United for Libraries electronic discussion group focused on topics of interest to statewide Friends groups. To get started, please see the sign up information.

State Friends Groups Contact Information

Updates to any of the information listed below can be requested by sending an email to united@ala.org.

Alabama                                           
No state Friends group.

Alaska
No state Friends group.

Arizona
No state Friends group.

Arkansas
No state Friends group.

California
California Public Library Advocates

Colorado
No state Friends group.
Colorado Association of Libraries Trustees and Friends Division
Chair: Jennifer Kutzik jennifer.kutzik@colostate.edu

Connecticut
Friends of Connecticut Libraries
President: Paul McIlvaine us796@aol.com
State library liaison: Dawn La Valle dawn.lavalle@ct.gov
Facebook
Newsletter

Delaware
Friends of Delaware Libraries
President: Kay Bowes kaybowes@gmail.com

District of Columbia
Federation of Friends of the DC Public Library
Contact: Richard Huffine richardhuffine@yahoo.com  

Florida
No state Friends group.
Florida Library Association: Friends , Foundations and Boards
Chair: Deborah Hohler deborahhohler@att.net
State library contact: Sandy Newell snewell@dos.myflorida.com

Georgia
Friends of Georgia Libraries
President: Dan Aldridge friendsbwjlibrary@gmail.com
Facebook 
Newsletter

Hawaii
Friends of the Library of Hawai'i
President: Marlene Booth info@friendsofthelibraryofhawaii.org
Facebook
Newsletter

Idaho
No state Friends group.
Idaho Library Association Trustees and Friends Division
Chair: Carolyne Pietz cpietz10@msn.com

Illinois
No state Friends group.

Indiana
Friends of Indiana Libraries  
Contact: Lucinda Nord exec@ilfonline.org

Iowa
No state Friends group.

Kansas
Friends of Kansas Libraries (FoKL)
President: Judy Burgess jlb6486@sbcglobal.net
Facebook
Newsletter

Kentucky
Friends of Kentucky Libraries, Inc.
President: Mary Lynn Collins marylynn41@hotmail.com
Facebook
Newsletter

Louisiana
No state Friends group.

Maine
No state Friends group.
(Archived Friends of Maine Libraries site)

Maryland
Citizens for Maryland Libraries
President: Linda Lupro lmlibn@yahoo.com
Executive Director: Diane Barlow dianebarlow85@yahoo.com
Newsletter

Massachusetts
Massachusetts Friends of Libraries
President: Alice Welch alicewelch@verizon.net
Facebook
Newsletter

Michigan
Friends of Michigan Libraries
President: Paul Snyder paul.snyder@foml.org
Administration office: Charles Hanson chanson@kettering.edu
Facebook
Newsletter

Minnesota
Minnesota Association of Library Friends
President: Nancy Guerino info@mnlibraryfriends.org
Facebook

Mississippi
Friends of Mississippi Libraries
State library liaison: Lacy Ellinwood lellinwood@mlc.lib.ms.us

Missouri
No state Friends group.

Montana
No state Friends group.

Nebraska
No state Friends group.

Nevada
No state Friends group.

New Hampshire
No state Friends group.
Information for New Hampshire Friends of the Library

New Jersey
No state Friends group.

New Mexico
No state Friends group
New Mexico Library Foundation
Contact: Carol Hoover foundation@nm-lf.org   

New York
New York Library Association: Friends of Libraries Section
President: Lisa C. Wemett lisawemett@frontiernet.net
Newsletter

North Carolina
Friends of North Carolina Public Libraries
President: Tommy McNeill, ttmcneill@hotmail.com
Facebook

North Dakota
No state Friends group.

Ohio
No state Friends group.
Ohio Library Council Friends
Contact: Doug Evans devans@olc.org

Oklahoma
Friends of Libraries in Oklahoma
President: Sharon Saulmon ssaulmon@yahoo.com
Facebook
Newsletter

Oregon
No state Friends group.

Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania Citizens for Better Libraries
President: Greg Thomas pcblpa@gmail.com
Facebook

Rhode Island
Rhode Island Coalition of Library Advocates
Chair: Gale Eaton gale.eaton@verizon.net
Facebook

South Carolina
Friends of South Carolina Libraries
President: Marlena White fosclpresident@gmail.com

South Dakota
No state Friends group.
State library contacts: Daria Bossman Daria.Bossman@state.sd.us, Lesta Turchen  lestaturchen@hughes.net

Tennessee
Friends of Tennessee Libraries
President 2018-2019: Donald B. Reynolds, Jr. don.reynolds2030@gmail.com
Facebook
Newsletter

Texas
Friends of Libraries and Archives of Texas
President: Lori Brix friends@tsl.state.tx.us

Utah
No state Friends group.
State library contact: Juan Lee jtlee@utah.gov

Vermont
No state Friends group.
State library contact: Amy Howlett amy.howlett@state.vt.us

Virginia
No state Friends group.

Washington
No state Friends group
Washington Library Association Library Friends, Foundations, and Trustees Association
Chair: Will Stuivenga will.stuivenga@sos.wa.gov
Newsletter

West Virginia
No state Friends group.
West Virginia Library Association Friends dvision chair:Joan Armbruster jgarmbruster@frontiernet.net

Wisconsin
Wisconsin Library Trustees & Friends
President: Kathy Pletcher klpletcher@gmail.com

Wyoming
No state Friends group.